Darvish

yu-darvish-ronald-martinez

In honor of Yu Darvish’s debut with the 2017 red-hot Dodgers, we have this song.  The song is based on Devo’s 1978 classic:  “Uncontrollable Urge”.

 

Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu
Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu

Got a surge in win streaks and it’s outta control
Got a surge don’t want to purge
And I’m losing control

Uncontrollable surge I want to tell you all about it
Got an uncontrollable surge let me, scream and shout it

I’ve got an uncontrollable surge
(He’s got an uncontrollable surge)
I’ve got an uncontrollable

It’s got style, it’s got class
So strong, I can’t pass the gas I gotta tell you all about it
I gotta scream and shout it

Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu
Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu

Got an surge in win streaks and it’s outta control now
Got an surge don’t want to purge and I’m losing con-trol
Uncontrollable surge I want to tell you all about it
Got an uncontrollable surge let me, scream and shout it

That’s right

I’ve got an uncontrollable surge
(He’s got an uncontrollable surge)
I’ve got an uncontrollable

It’s got style, it’s got class
So strong, I can’t pass the gas I gotta tell you all about it
I gotta scream and shout it

I got an uncontrollable surge I want to tell you all about it
An uncontrollable surge make me scream and shout
And I say Yu
(He’s says Yu)
And I say Yu, Yu
(He says Yu, Yu)
And I say Yu
(Yu)
And I say Yu, Yu
(Yu, Yu)

And I say Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu
Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu, Yu

 

59 thoughts on “Darvish

  1. Lineup – Yu Darvish versus Jacob deGrom

    1. Chris Taylor (R) LF
    2. Corey Seager (L) SS
    3. Justin Turner (R) 3B
    4. Cody Bellinger (L) 1B
    5. Joc Pederson (L) CF
    6. Yasmani Grandal (S) C
    7. Chase Utley (L) 2B
    8. Yasiel Puig (R) RF
    9. Yu Darvish (R) P

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was pumped after the game last night.

      The month or so I had Bubba, I couldn’t stay focused.

      Now, they’ve went and picked up Darvish, who when utilizing all his tools with maximum efficiency…is a fun guy to watch.

      Oh yeah, and Utley might hit a home-run!!

      It’s a mellow 4:25 out here in Idaho.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ya got four guys in the lineup, any of which can go nutso in a game – Taylor, Seager, Turner, and Bellinger. Even Grandal is capable of a multi home run game. Then ya gots yur Puiggy at the bottom of the lineup who has suddenly gotten hot. He’s hitting .382 over the past 14 days. Add in super subs Austin Barnes and Kike. This offense should stay hot. Possible adds in September – Gonzo and Verdugo.

        Then there’s the starting pitching – we all thought Hill had gone sour, but he’s not, so there’s Kershaw, Hill, Wood, and now Darvish. Add Ryu and Maeda to the bullpen in the playoffs. It’s been a fun year and I’m not ready for it to end until the trophy comes home.

        Liked by 1 person

        • They turned my old non-smoking pub, that had the snooker table, into a big ass bar with a sports and music venue theme. I may check it out tomorrow and see if I can get the FS1 feed. It’s across the street from the big mud-pit.

          Like

  2. Our town will be throwing a party this weekend at Col. Bernard Fisher Park, which is a couple of blocks away.

    This gentleman was a true hero. I read the transcripts once of him rescuing a fellow air-man. If you can find them, you might take a second or two and read ’em.

    Anyhow, I’m now located within walking distance of a beer garden, and several bands.

    They have been bulldozing and excavating a mud-pit for everyone to wrestle in under the big American flag!

    I’m gonna sit, sip and watch tomorrow around gametime.

    Like

  3. Funny how a team with the best record in baseball and a big lead in its division seems like a team fighting for a playoff space with all the excitement over Yu Darvish. Is he really going to be the savior? That is a lot to ask of any one player, especially on a team, as mentioned above, that has all sorts of talent. However, I am glad management did not decide to sit back and let the team go forward without trying to fill the small holes. Hopefully the new players are up to the challenge and the existing players can maintain the momentum that has brought us to today. We all know the stakes are high and that nothing short of a World Series win will satisfy any of us.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I missed it, but MC Joey D was rapping again last night in Atlanta.

    I also missed Taylors bomb…by forgetting to turn the game on!

    Like

  5. One thing we have learned about Darvish: he does not do a good job of holding runners. But he does not seem to be bothered by it.

    Like

  6. It was a windy night at Citi Field but it went in favor of the Dodgers. It helped with the 3 HRs, but Darvish was the story of the night. How satisfying it was to watch him go 7 sparkling 3 hit scoreless innings with 10 strikeouts. How could we ask for anything more. It looks like we have a big gun added to out arsenal.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I think we can all agree Darvish had a good debut and it certainly helped the Dodger offense provided him with an early lead. Yu did seem a bit uncomfortable early and perhaps that is a good thing because he responded well to the challenges. According to an article in today’s L.A. Times he was able to absorb all the analytics presented to him about the Mets hitters and trusted that information. I must say I am not comfortable with all the talk about how this may be the best Dodger team in the history of the franchise and the expectations. There is still a lot of baseball to be played and for now, I would just like to enjoy what is happening on the field.

    Like

  8. Looks like the Dodgers are getting a taste of their own medicine. Mr. Hill not responding well to following Darvish’s debut.

    Like

  9. There’s a whiskered genius, over in the dugout upon the rail.
    His name is Turner Ward, and he’s got Puiggy looking oh-so swell!

    Just a Puigun’…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I think it’s time for MC Joey D and “The” Bulldog to begin rapping something…

    MC Joey D here on the mic.
    Bringin’ y’all insight on the blue tonight
    Psych 55 and I are up rockin the booth
    Only thing we be missing, are gold tooths
    88 rings and 78 wins
    Deuces are wild
    As the big bombs fly
    Someone send Nomar another slice of pie

    “The” Bulldog just needs to smile in the background with his arms folded.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Well, that’s a wrap…Dodgers eclipse the 42-8 run of 2013 under Mattingley. Now they can say they’re 43-7 under Roberts. So without looking (I had to look to find the answer…) who were the seven losses to the past few months?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Weird game from Hill, giving up the dingers on misplaced fastballs. I thought he was trying to get ahead in the count and just missing his spots. When he went back to the curve, all was well.

    Like

  13. Another day, another win. This was a fun fill day. We were seated among a lot of Dodger fans, who along with my click watched the Dodgers do what they are doing better than they have in a long, long time.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. If you want to post a thread today, speak up. If not, enjoy Sunday Mass and the Royal Fork and I will have something up when you return.

    Like

  15. After Game 1 in NY and as the team was lined up exchanging high 5’s, Puiggy smacked Avilan in the chest and almost knocked him over. Maybe he should kiss everyone?

    Like

  16. Another series win in the new altered universe.
    *
    I’m hoping rest will do it for Grandal. Barnes will be able to handle it and Farmer may get some more experience. Avoiding injuries will be important from now on as well as getting players enough playing time to stay sharp. I used to dread going into the post season when key players were given days off to rest, but this year’s team seems to reload.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

