Bombay Banquet

main-qimg-a2f609d24fe55bc93a69451c6e86651a-c

This afternoon at 5:40pm PDT/6:40pm MDT/8:40 EDT, the Dodgers take on the Colorado Rockies in Denver.  If the Dodgers can take three of four games or better, the Dodgers will be in first place at the end of the weekend.

Last night, Nomar Garciaparra discussed Cody Bellinger’s ability to hit an opposite field home run, flat-footed, and with the marine layer working against him in Chavez Ravine.  That just shows how strong he is.  Imagine the damage he can do at Coors Field.  Bombs Away!

48 thoughts on “Bombay Banquet

  1. Youze guys probably already know this, but guess who is leading the Dodgers in home runs?

    Bombay!!! (tied with Puiggy)

    Like

  2. Rich Hill pitched five innings of no-hit ball yesterday for the Rancho Cucamonga Quakes. Nothing has been reported today of his finger status.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lineup

    1. Joc Pederson (L) CF
    2. Corey Seager (L) SS
    3. Justin Turner (R) 3B
    4. Cody Bellinger (L) LF
    5. Chris Taylor (R) 2B
    6. Chase Utley (L) 1B
    7. Yasiel Puig (R) RF
    8. Austin Barnes (R) C
    9. Hyun-Jin Ryu (R) P

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kenta Maeda to the 10 day DL. What the hell, if they’re just gonna play games like this, why doesn’t the MLB just expand the 25 man roster to 27 or 30 guys? Geez.

    Like

  5. Let’s play one game at a time before we take the ice cream out of the freezer. This is a much better Rockies team than what we have seen the past few seasons.

    This 10 day DL has to be a
    GM’s dream. It probably is working the way it was expected and is a way to keep the rosters at 25.

    Liked by 1 person

    • For some odd reason? MLB decided I live in the Rockies territory, (the map say’s Seattle!) So halfway through the game they blacked me out. I said, I wished that I was in Denver! Not my television set!

      Ryu couldn’t get the curveball to cooperate. Hershiser was talking about how Ryu uses his off-speed stuff over 50% of the time now. The thing I like about Ryu is his mental toughness. It was evident that he didn’t have good stuff. His pitch count was high early. They ran the score up on him, but he stayed on the mound until his intended pitch count was completed. I believe Ryu will have better success in a normal setting…

      Let’s hope Kershaw can best the elements and help bring the team a win tonight…

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Rough night at the ballyard last night… It’s gonna happen now and again….. I know most of you want 3 of 4 and first place from this series, but, I will be very happy with a split. If we can get 2 out of 4 I will be pleased..

    Liked by 4 people

  7. I’d be very happy if we skipped Ryu’s spot in the rotation altogether. He’s just another soft tossing lefty anymore.

    Management however ought to know that Coors is a helluva spot to throw a soft tosser into who’s just had a 10 day vacation and no rehab game. Pretty predictable outcome.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m against skipping his spot altogether…He has the ability to pitch around/out of trouble. But, if you can assure me that the others can do so as well?!?!?

      I just think that mental toughness is a big key. No matter what tools you possess.

      Like

    • Ryu was hitting the corners with his fastball in the beginning and he K’d Blackmon twice. Look back to what Ryu has had to deal with so far this year…Cold weather in Colorado, then cold weather in Chicago, (none-of-us would have put cleats on in that crap!) Okay maybe the (Windy City native-Kahli would.) Take a look at his starts in what we’d call baseball weather…San Fran – Ryu gave up 5 hits and 1 ER. Then again against the Phillies at home – 3 hits – 1 ER, with 9 k’s.

      All this comes after two years of severe struggles.

      He could collapse altogether after putting his feet on the floor this morning…but if he doesn’t…He will fight his way through another day…He has that type of make-up. He has a pitchers mentality!

      Like

  8. My complaint of the day, is….
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .

    .
    Fuck You Coors Field!!

    The early start times that co-exist with the setting sun and it’s shadows, but only upon the visiting teams half of the first inning, is feminine at best. The field bestows an extra at-bat upon it’s daisy’s, yet, they lose every year anyways!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m happy Kershaw goes tonight. We need a win as soon as possible. I’d hate to have to win two straight against these guys at this time in their own ballpark. Tonight’s a must win, the way I see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The bats did their job, but Ryu fooled nobody. The way our pitchers drop like flies, he’ll probably have to go again. He’s had more than his share to deal with and it will take some time to get everything working again.
    *
    The new and improved Rocks are making things interesting. It’ll be interesting to see how deep into the season they can keep this up.

    Like

  11. Anyone changing the thread?

    If not I’d like to chew MLB out a bit!!

    Someone other than I should change the thread..

    I’m too worn out to be using anymore colorful language!!

    I just had some tech wiz with an accent ask me for outdated info. When I asked him where in my profile I could find it. He wouldn’t give it to me without first verifying the info. I explained to him that he can point out where to find it without divulging anything private. Luckily, I was able to rehash my memory bank and give him the info. Then after he verified it. I asked him where to find it and he gave me the wrong place…

    All because somehow my IP address became changed/mixed up…

    Just put the cuss words where they need be!!

    Like

    • I wasn’t all that mad about missing the game…Having to verify info with India or wherever without an interpreter or interactive map, set me into an I need to spark another hooter mode.

      The whole World’s fucked up when I’m sober!

      Perhaps, I shouldn’t have photo-shopped those Aces of Hearts, onto, them gentleman’s foreheads?!?!?!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. This is the Rockies / Dodgers thread if it gets too long, then change, but Im fine as is.
    Last night didnt surprise me, Ryu is coming in to a unfortunate situation, also coming out of an unfortunate situation. I have faith he will develop more with each start, by June good stuff.
    3 of 4? holy smoke the rox are on fire now, if the dodgers dont get swept, that could be a break, didnt they sweep the Cubs, didnt they beat Kershaw here.
    Just being realistic, there are teams that are on fire and the Dodgers are not one of them. But that will change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

