Urias vs. Samardzija

Tonight’s game features Julio Urias (0-0, 1.59 ERA) versus Jeff Samardzija (0-4, 6.32 ERA).  Given that (a) this is baseball and (b) it’s the Dodgers, the offense will likely have a tough time against Samardzija.  I am curious to see which left-handed hitter will be playing first base tonight.  Will Adrian Gonzalez get another day of rest and recovery?  Or will Bellinger play left field, with Toles manning center field?

Last night, the offense went off.  Does that prove they can hit left-handers?  No, it proves that Matt Moore was having a hard time throwing strikes last night.

50 thoughts on “Urias vs. Samardzija

  1. I’m gonna read the instruction book in order to photoshop better, in the very near future. I enjoy it. It’s fun!

    I’ve been listening to Joey D and ‘Da Bulldog pretty closely this season. And since I’m not gonna give up my erb anytime soon. I thought, perhaps I should work on another area of concern. I’m eating heathier and lightly exercising again.

    I’m gonna hang out here more…even if I can’t play.

    https://www.falconcrestgolf.com

    Twice I had a round of -3 under, stepping up to hit my second shot over the pond on 18. Only to hit every ball in my bag into the water. I’ve never broke 70.

    Like

    • I generally use the whole course. I figure I get my money’s worth that way. So, I’m in the rough, I’m in the trees, I’m in the sand, I’m in the water.

      Once I hit a birdie – then he wasn’t feeling too well. No, really, I got a birdie once with a lucky nine-iron shot. No reason to keep playing after that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Was it a Condor?

        I’ve seen some weird golf shots in my time…I began in Seattle/Bothel to be exact. The first 216 shots of my life went straight into a rain forest of Douglas Firs. That 217th shot was the beginning of the round in which I broke 100. My first 3 day total was…108 – 108 – 97.

        Like

  2. WAR – what is it good for? Absolutely nothing!

    WAR – Wins Above Replacement – Here’s the top 8 Dodgers from baseball-reference.com using WAR:

    1. Justin Turner – yep
    2. Clayton Kershaw – yep
    3. Corey Seager
    4. Brandon McCarthy
    5. Yasmani Grandal
    6. Logan Forsythe (even though he’s currently on the DL)
    7. Hyun-Jin Ryu – surprise!
    8. Cody Bombay Belliinger – not easy to do after playing just eight games

    One big problem with WAR is that it ranks Pedro Baez above Kenley Jansen – fuggedaboudit

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lineup

    1. Andrew Toles (L) CF
    2. Corey Seager (L) SS
    3. Justin Turner (R) 3B
    4. Yasmani Grandal (S) C
    5. Cody Bellinger (L) LF
    6. Adrian Gonzalez (L) 1B
    7. Yasiel Puig (R) RF
    8. Chase Utley (L) 2B
    9. Julio Urias (L) P

    Like

    • Bombay has yet another lineup position today – #5!

      In nine games, that’s his sixth different lineup position. He has yet to bat #3, #4, or #9.

      Eventually, he could settle in as #4 on an everyday basis:

      Leadoff guy
      Seager
      Turner
      Bombay

      Like

        • Looks like (I could be wrong) it was September 1, 2006 – Puds against the Reds and Bronson Arroyo.

          Puds lineup:

          Dave Roberts lf
          Brian Giles rf
          Todd Walker 2b
          Mike Piazza c
          Russell Branyan 3b
          Mike Cameron cf
          Adrian Gonzalez 1b
          Geoff Blum ss
          Clay Hensley p

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Look at Cody ring the bell inger moving up to 5th spot. hope its not too much pressure.
    Im a chase utley fan, but its disturbing to see him in the 8 hole, probably rather flip him with puig, but oh well. we are playing the gnats, anything could happen

    Like

  5. A-Gone has a herniated disk. Herniated disks all around (he joins Ethier and Kershaw – last year). Now it’s A-Gone’s turn. How ’bout he takes a turn on the DL when Joc comes back?

    Like

  6. We can’t score more than one run off a pitcher that comes in with an ERA over 6… Pathetic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You can’t pin it on one player, the whole offense failed miserably….. UnAccetable!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. AGone, Grandal, and especially Utley are not getting it done…. I am especially disappointed with Grandal…

    I didn’t expect much from AGone as I think he is toast. Put Bellinger at 1st, DL AGone and move on.

    Liked by 3 people

  8. With the game going into the 11th and the clock approaching 2:00AM, I decided to go to bed and check on the score when I woke up. At 79, I got to get some rest. If the pennant was on the line, it would be different.

    Like

Leave a Reply

