Twenty Game Review

review

Here’s where we are after the first 20 games:  9-11, and five games back.  How does that compare to the past four years, when the Dodgers won four straight division titles?

2013  9-11, 4.5 games back

2014  12-8, 1 game ahead

2015  12-8, 1 game ahead

2016  12-8, 1.5 games ahead

Wow!  Identical records the past three years, three games better than where we stand right now.  What happened in 2013?  Oh yeah, the year the Dodgers stood at 32-40 through June 21st, then kicked off a 42-8 sprint through the summer (well, up through August 17th).  Then they shifted gears slightly and ran off another 11-5 sprint, which put them 12.5 games above the nearest competitor.  The year that Yasiel Puig came up and the pitchers hadn’t figured him out yet.  The year of Hanley Ramirez (the year before he ruined Clayton Kershaw’s perfect game).

Can the 2017 Dodgers find a way to put the pieces together?  As Griz said, the Diamondbacks and the Rockies are both for real this year, but we have yet to see whether they’ve got the staying power.

Some changes that could help this year’s Dodgers:

  • The rebirth of Hyun-Jin Ryu’s pitching ability, as called by the great prognosticator Dodger4life.
  • The addition of Julio Urias to the starting rotation.
  • A possible call-up of Alex Verdugo or Cody Bellinger if Andrew Toles can’t get it going.
  • Ditto for Joc Pederson.
  • The return of Logan Forsythe once his toe heals.
  • The return of butter n egg man Adrian Gonzalez once his right forearm is at full strength.
29 thoughts on “Twenty Game Review

  1. Dagnabbit!!!

    I need to order me some math erb!!

    It’s too hard to focus and think with the strain I have now!

    I think it’s more of a literature erb…

    Like

  2. Nice write up Crash…

    I once had a Nurse tell me, she’d never seen a more damaged prognosticator before.

    Of course, I had just lost a fight with 5 headbangers, all high on cocaine and all of them wearing boots.

    I’m surprised the dang thing still works…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. since it was brought up, I always thought Hanley threw the ball away, knowing he couldnt get enough on the throw to get the out, so the score keeper would give an error rather than a hit. Saved the NO hitter. well at least that’s the way Id like to think.
    This years team, needs to treat every game as if its a play off game. Especially vs NL west teams, and thats whats on the Agenda tonight.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Who wrote the My Loney song?

    We should do a re-write and update that one somehow…

    We need a new Loney

    How did that go again?

    Like

    • …from DodgerEric’s dodgerlyric blog:

      The Loney Song
      This is the earliest one I could find, although there HAS to be earlier ones.

      My Loney has a first name,
      It’s J-A-M-E-S
      My Loney has a second name,
      It’s L-O-N-E-Y
      I love to watch him every day
      And if you ask me why I’ll say
      ‘Cause James Loney has a way
      With H-I-T-T-I-N-G!

      By leekfink@yahoo.com on April 27, 2008 5:31 PM

      Liked by 1 person

        • I’m already looking…

          I did find this in the process…

          I think once we got over 8-900 and were hoping to get to 1000, but then we got a new thread.
          Being folically challenged, perhaps if Manny cuts his hair they can box it up and send it over to me – along with some duct tape.
          I just don’t see making Manny’s hair a distraction to the team during a pennant race.
          Nor make it an issue for a 2-month rental…

          Like

      • The Beav should rework this song to better fit today’s squad…

        This team could definitely use a jingle.

        Any objections?

        Like

        • Looks like I spoke out of turn about this team needing a new jingle…

          Let’s pray to the Dodger God that he doesn’t turn into Cody BellyJingles anytime soon…

          Like

  5. PS: who is the girl in the speed boat, and is that really taken in SF Bay? ah Never mind Im just waiting till 715 PST, I mean PDT

    Like

  6. haha

    Eric Stephen Retweeted
    Jacob Unruh ✔ @jacobunruh
    OKC manager Bill Haselman said Cody Bellinger not in lineup today because “he’s not feeling too good.” Bellinger not in clubhouse.

    1h

    Like

Leave a Reply

