Eleven More Wins

worldseriestrophy

Eyes on the prize – that’s the 1988 World Series Trophy – picture taken by catlovesthedodgers.mlblogs.com.  The Dodgers now need to win just eleven more games to get their next World Series Championship Trophy.  It’s been 28 long years since the last one.

We know the competition.  First, we need three victories against the Washington Nationals.  Second, we take four wins from either the Chicago Cubs or the San Francisco Giants.  Then finally, we need four victories on the largest stage of all, against the survivor of the American League – the Boston Red Sox, the Cleveland Indians, the Texas Rangers, or the Toronto Blue Jays.

The team is already in Washington D.C.  The starting rotation is set.  The 25-man roster is tentatively set, and could change tomorrow.  What’s left is the execution of the plan.  Win, win, win.  Go Dodgers!

77 thoughts on “Eleven More Wins

  1. Once upon the time we expected to win every year. That was a long time ago.
    I couldn’t imagine waiting 28 years. The way things have been going the last 10 or 12 years, it could happen any time now. Just getting INTO the World Series would be great.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Let’s hope they’re better prepared and have more fire in their bellies than the Donnie managed teams. At least I have faith that Roberts can out-manage Baker. I didn’t have faith Donnie could out-manage a turnip.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Dodgers have managed to add some players late in the season that could have big roles in the playoffs – Rich Hill, Josh Reddick, Andrew Toles, Grant Dayton, Yasiel Puig, and Andre Ethier. As much as I maligned “Sluggo” Reddick in August (.161 batting average), he really improved in September (.382).

    Like

  4. From the 1940’s to the 1980’s, the Dodgers were in the World Series multiple times in each decade. We all know what has happened since 1988. I love watching or listening to the Gibson home run and it was a tremendous moment but I have to admit, it is time to create a new moment in Dodger history. It is time not to replace that moment from 1988 but to add to it. Hopefully this year’s Dodger team is up to the task.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kershaw might be a little wild tonight.

      What if every pitch he threw wasn’t a strike…what if he mixed in a little funky junky.

      Like

  5. I’m hoping this NLDS series gets good coverage in my local papers, since there’s no New York team participating.. It was great last year with the Mets .

    Like

  6. I have zero expectation for the Dodgers. Whatever happens, happens. Call me apathetic, but I don’t really know this team, thanks to the TV ad nauseum snafu. But I’m a bit worried because, correct me if I’m wrong, I’m not sure any “sabermetrics” team has won a championship. The “Money Ball” A’s and the “Friedman” Tampa Bay Rays got close…but no cigar. I truly believe sabermetrics (ie platoon) works over the course of a season to save wear and tear on the human body, but in a short run to the crown, match-ups, shifts, etc., might best be abandoned for a consistent line-up and a thing called “gut feel,” however you want to define that. Let’s see if Friedman can break the mold and win it all. But I have my doubts. Sorry if that pessimism rubs anyone here the wrong way.

    Like

  7. If the Dodgers do win it all it will be because a player steps up at critical moments (although sometimes we don’t know at the time that moment was critical) and gets the job done. I don’t care who gets credit; it is the players on the field who pitch, hit, run, catch and throw. I do agree there is a big element from the manager/front office for having the right personnel in situations where they can be successful but sometimes the magic works and sometimes it doesn’t. Anything can happen and probably will. Let’s hope the Dodgers are the benefactors.

    Like

  8. Win or lose I’m pulling hard for Kershaw to have a quality start. He’s a good person and I don’t want him to have to answer questions from the media as to whether or not he’s a “big game” pitcher. But I’ll be darned if Bumgarner isn’t a freak of nature.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lineup against Scherzer – Mostly as expected, but “Sluggo” is batting 5th and Grandal dropped to 7th.

    1. Chase Utley (L) 2B
    2. Corey Seager (L) SS
    3. Justin Turner (R) 3B
    4. Adrian Gonzalez (L) 1B
    5. Josh Reddick (L) RF
    6. Joc Pederson (L) CF
    7. Yasmani Grandal (S) C
    8. Andrew Toles (L) LF
    9. Clayton Kershaw (L) P

    Like

  10. Sometimes a team just gets hot and that can carry them straight through the playoffs. Just ask the 2007 Rockies, who were 6 1/2 games back on September 15th. They won 14 of their last fifteen games in the regular season to snag the Wild Card slot. Then they proceeded to win seven games straight to win the NLDS and the NLCS. Then they…got tired and got swept in the World Series.

    Let’s see…maybe the Dodgers will peak at the right time? Dunno. I still feel down about the lost momentum from the last week of the regular season.

    Like

  11. Max Scherzer has a tougher time against left-handed batters than against right-handed batters. That is as expected. His career splits are as expected, a fair amount worse against lefties. But in 2016, he has wider splits than normal (BA/OBP/SLG/OPS):

    vs. RHB: .156/.189/.288/.477
    vs. LHB: .242/.315/.442/.757

    Like

  12. I’m watching delayed so I’m commenting after three innings. Kershaw is not sharp tonight. I hope he is not having any physical problems. He can only go two more innings… hopefully.

    Like

  13. I was impressed with the relievers today. Kersh may not have had his best stuff but, was still leading when he came out of the game. I’m tired of people calling him a choker! To me, he hung in there!

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Kershaw struggled to keep the Nats batsman off balance. Even when the breaking ball had good spin, they were able to put wood on it.

    He’ll only get stronger as we go…I’d suspect.

    Dodgers win game 1 and advantage blue.

    Liked by 2 people

    • He just didn’t have good command of his breaking stuff. Everyone has an off day from time to time. He was still able to gut it out with what he did have working. Hopefully he will return to form in his next outing.
      Personally, I feel bad he lost his catcher while he was on the DL. Getting Ruiz in that horrible deal was very far from an upgrade.

      Like

      • We shall see how Chooch fares. He has done better at the plate than Ellis. Plus Ellis is a free-agent so those days catching for the Phil’s may have helped him in that regard. He wouldn’t of caught many games for the Dodgers. Kershaw is still warming up his arm, so to speak. I agree that he’ll be fine.

        Good to see ya’ again VL…

        Like

  15. 1-0 Dodgers, is really a very good feeling, Kershaw pitched his heart out and the bullpen was solid, as usual. Let’s hope we can bring a 2 game lead back to Los Angeles.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Breaks my heart! I enjoyed last night’s game, and was really looking forward to this afternoon’s. I’ll have to miss it, because I have to work! Damn Hurricane!!

      Like

  16. It’s still raining pretty steadily here and has rained through the night. I don’t know how the weather is in D.C. I hope we get this game in today..

    Like

  17. I’ve been gone, and reading the older comments, lbirk summed it up two days ago. Players need to step up at critical times. Getting hits with the bases loaded could be critical, I think, but that didn’t happen today. Tomorrow maybe?

    Like

  18. I told ya’ last week I moved my TV so I could see it better. Then I relocated my bed and added a table and sofa. Now during the game I’m mudding the walls smooth so I can draw Farmer John and the Dodger logo… Oh and paint a Unocal 76 logo on the fridge.

    I had to put in a box and relocate the cable wire inside the wall.

    I only have enough lung capacity to work in 10 minute spurts. It might be done by Opening Day?

    I put the omelet bar in last winter. It has been working out well, so… onward I go…

    Like

  19. Sorry, I didn’t come back later in the game, I had problems I had to take care of.
    I left right after Lobaton’s HR. I had the game on the rest of the way and saw the that Dodgers
    failed to score some runs.

    Like

  20. Grandahl sucked. Bases loaded with one out twice. He produced a double play and strike out…

    Unacceptable.. Even a couple of Sac-Flies would have been the norm and acceptable… Geez!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  21. Early game today. Several of our proven veterans didn’t get it done yesterday, so it’s more than fair to say they are due. I’m going into the game thinking it will be our day. Why not be positive?

    Like

  22. On other blogs I’ve seen this morning some Dodger fans are already talking about next year. A little early I’d say. True enough we’ve been disappointed by early exits the last several years, but a little faith is in order.

    Like

Leave a Reply

