Docs Dodgers

images

Dave Roberts also known as “Doc” has his battered, but not broken Dodgers playing some of the best baseball we’ve seen in quite sometime.

What a wonderful surprise 

It wasn’t very long ago that the belief was without Kershaw, this team would crumble faster than crackers into a bowl of hot tomato soup.

Make that organic tomato soup

After all, it did seem like Kershaws arm was the only way this team could chalk up a win. We’re all aware of the value that our ace brings to the field. The question that crosses my mind this morning though, is after 100 ballgames where would you put the value of Dave Roberts as the clubs skipper?

Call ’em as you see ’em

I could research this topic and find stats and clips and rehash all that has transpired over the season to date. But that would just make this post longer than it is. So Im turning this topic over to you all.

Rate the Skippers first 100 days…

41 thoughts on “Docs Dodgers

  1. I was somewhat skeptical in the first few days. I mean the Padres passed on him for a reason right?

    Whatever that reason was it looks pretty silly now if you ask me.

    I like the positive energy Doc brings to the club. Whether it’s on the field, in the locker room, or I assume, at the conference table of organizational minds as well. In fact! I’ll bet he’s quite vocal and persuasive when displaying his thoughts. He just doesn’t seem like he’s gonna make faces, nod his head, and unwillingly agree. To me he seems like once a decision is made, the only way to present it, is positively. I like this! Even if I disagree with the decision that was made. There’s definitely a different demeanor to this clubs overall attitude this season. Sure they sputtered early on. They may sputter again? But it’s my belief that after managing this club in previous years. Donnie would of struggled to keep this club afloat this season. So if this is my thinking, I’m gonna say Doc brings enormous value to this years squad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not that I don’t feel like talking trades or acquisitions. It just feels like this will be one of those “Meet me in Colorado” moments.

    Like

  3. I’d have to give him a B for a mid term grade. The jury is still out until the season is done, but he’s done good job managing a team that seems to have half the roster in sick bay half the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The moves he makes during a game always seems to have good reasoning and strategy behind them. There have only been a couple that left me wondering and he apparently has enough people skills to handle the players.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like DOC. Always have. I have questioned his moves rarely, and Im sure he had much more knowledge about that move than my thoughts had. I doubt Puig, Trayce, Toles, Kike or any of the other kids(exception segar) would have had as many opportunities to play with Donnie at the helm. To roberts credit, He started off fresh, and let the player cut their own mold. He let them play and Utley, Kendrick and Turner have responded, waiting for Gonzo to get it going more. He stood by some pitchers, and kept putting them out there, and they got better, those that didnt, well they dont pitch as often. Puig, as example, has cut his path this year, Puig cannot complain he has not had playing time. If you dont give 100% then you will be benched. Seems Fair. Roberts seems upbeat and positive, like Lasorda without the BIG personality, and he also seems all business when the game is on, and keeps it professional in the clubhouse, very much like Alston. I dont see any rally bananas, no hot foots and no heated arguments that polarize the dugout. The Turner /grandal foul ball blow it is about as heated as I have seen/heard. The team seems too respond in late innings, I dont know if it is Roberts actions, but this team was not like this a year ago. So I guess Ill blame Doc.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Given the roster and injury issues I think Doc has done a good job. I believe he came into this job with eyes wide open. He seems to have a good understanding of the game and how to communicate with the players. I still wonder how much input he or previous Dodger managers have had about lineups but he seems to not make as many changes as Donnie did.

    Has he made a big difference? Who can know? He is the manager now and has the team in the hunt.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m under the impression that the White Sox have some internal problems. Didn’t they ask a player not to bring his kid to Spring Training everyday. How do they schedule the throwback uni’s on the day their Ace takes the hill and not get his consent first. Pitchers are finicky about wearing the same things. Not that I condone Sale actions, just that I believe it’s deeper than what appears on the surface. He does have a team friendly contract. The squad needs another solid arm to go anywhere in the post-season, especially if Kershaw doesn’t bounce back.

      Like

  7. It took Kershaw 4 seasons to win a Cy Young. It took him 7 seasons to lower his era under 2.00. That being said, and keep in mind that by using this barometer as a comparison, you are quite possibly using the stats of one of the greatest pitchers to ever play the game. Even know Urias can step into any rotation in baseball today. He has a ways to go before he can carry a team not only through the season, but the post season as well. It’s my belief that this squad can win it all. What they failed to bestow in previous years seems to be there now. Whatever that is…chemistry, grit, luck…whatever. They’re also in a good position to be competitive in the years to come. There’s no guarantee that any pitcher will remain healthy past tomorrow…so I’d say there’s no time like the present. That being said, in trading what I do believe to be a quality arm in Urias, you need to get more than a rental. Sale is more than a rental. He has a team friendly contract and has paid his dues as far as learning how to pitch at this level.

    Like

    • You could put Chris Archer and his team friendly contract in the same boat. I haven’t seen either of these guys pitch. I trust that the FO has done their homework. I like the fact that they’re looking towards the future, while giving the team a better opportunity to be successful now.

      Like

  8. At first I didn’t rate Roberts too high for the mere fact that he took over a first place team, but I think a lot more of him now because of all the injuries, especially Kershaw, that have taken place and he’s been able to keep the team in the Division and wild card races.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The “Look Alive Rally Mummy” is thinking about forming a rally band with the “Rally Girls” as his back up singers…

    Like

  10. Lot of stuff flowing here. Obvisously from the comments some regulars don’t care or are too busy. I completely understand.
    Roberts: Good by me.
    Trade Urias: NO! or any other top prospect. Why: Pitching is the ticket to the play-offs.
    State of the Dodgers: yeah it looks good now 2.5 out, but that is because the gnats finally had their June Swoon. I can’t see the post season now. The Cubs have filled one of their blemishes. Im certain the Gnats, Nationals and Mets will proceed to fix their blemishes in the next week. The Marlins and Cards have something to say also, and the Pirates will not go quietly.
    If I was the Dodgers (players, coaches or FO, even the beer vendor) I would not make a deal for short term rental of high hopes in the play-offs, be it OF, catcher 1B or P, that gives up Dodger controlled talent that is cheap and promising. Until the fate of Kershaw for this season known, I play small trade. I don’t think the Dodgers can compete in the play offs without Kershaw.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Not trying to be disrespectful to anyone’s thoughts process. I’m just making conversation.

    Did anybody think the 88 team would win it all after playing 100 games. How about the 81 team? Did you believe they could beat the Yankees in 55?

    As difficult as it is to become the last team on the field in the Fall. The team has to do their best to position themselves to win. This team doesn’t appear to be as strong on paper. There’s no Manny, no Hanley, no back to back Ace…but this team has what you can’t buy, you can’t put a stat on it. They battle…every day and every night. You can see them displaying positive energy even when things aren’t going well. They have played as well as the Giants have and done it with less if you think about it. One team started off slow in the 1st half, the other started off slow in the second half. I believe they will not only catch the Giants, but hang on to win the division. I believe they’ll do it with or without Kershaw too. Heck, did anyone think the Giants would win it all in 2014? How about 2012, 2010? They didn’t give in and neither can the 2016 Dodgers. We’re gonna celebrate in the Bay this year and Vinny will be the narrator of it all.

    Like

  12. In 2013 Kershaw lost two playoff games against the Cards. That was the year they nailed Hanley in his ribs. The Dodgers lost the series 4-2. We’ll never know how things would have turned out had Hanley not been injured and timid in the batters box. It’s possible that they could have won that series without Kershaw winning a single game. Just like it’s possible that they can win it all without Kershaw winning a single game this season. The odds are much better with him, certainly. Impossible though, not if they keep fighting…

    Like

  13. These guys have battled their way back. The Giants didn’t give them anything, just like they didn’t give the Giants anything back when they were successful.

    Like

  14. They didn’t do this with a shrug your shoulders and noggin attitude either. They did this with a desire to prove they belong. I like this! I like this a lot!

    Like

  15. They have 24 games to play until the cross state rivals embark upon the Southland. With basically Boston and Pittsburgh as the only foes displaying a winning record between now and then. Those 6 games are in the Ravine.

    Like

    • Count the series with the Giants and the Cubs as well and the next 12 games against winning ballclubs are in the Ravine.

      Like

  16. Can y’all hear Vinny saying so long it’s been a wonderful, wonderful ride…as the Dodgers jubilantly wave good-bye from the field at AT&T…

    Like

  17. D4 I love your enthusiasm and optimism that the Dodgers will win it all. Im with ya, but the Dodgers have to get Hot in Late September and October, yes they can. Yes the Luck factor plays in to every scenario. The gnats got plain lucky in 14, and just hung on to Mad Bum’s left arm. Oh and Bochy’s skilled field general decisions. Likewise the 88 Dodgers, were lowest BA average team to enter a WS?, and well Orel did the amazing all season, while “the stunt men” overperformed Thank you Mickey Hatcher.
    Taking 5/6 from the Nationals is encouraging, but losing 3/4 to both the Cubs and Pirates in not.
    Lets win the division first, we have 9 games left with the gnats. Both teams may be quite different when they see each other. Urias may be in the Starting Rotation next year, has he knocked my sox off, NO, does he have the tools to do so in the next couple of years, You Bet. I wouldn’t want to give that up, for a rental or some yo-yo, that packs a gun or feels free to use scissors on team property.
    I think the Dodgers as built Now, can be competitive, it will just require each player to be 110%, and that is where I am concerned.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You know what concerns me Koufax…it’s which one of the lovely “Rally Girls” will make the cut and become the “Look Alive Rally Mummys” back up singers. How do I choose? They all seem so talented!!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Damn Tough question, perhaps we should ask a woman? Tru? The scary thing is there are more out there that have not been discovered. You know every girl grows to be like her Mummy!

    Liked by 2 people

  19. I mean they all look great holding guitars…plus I have to find a suitable mic for the Mummy. Then figure out his stage wear. The girls are dressed appropriately as is. The Mummy though, he’s gonna require a little cleaning up. Then I have to erect the stage out in center-field…the whole season hinges on this group…110% – that might be the next song on the album? You’re a visionary Koufax…thanks for the help.

    Like

    • I wish I had animation capabilities I’d turn the Look Alive Rally Mummy into dancing James Brown and I’d make sure those Rally Bums were swinging as well…Look-alive, uh-huh…We’re Addicted to Winning, gotta look-alive uh-huh, oh-yeah, gotta look-alive cause we’re Addicted to Winning, oh -yeah, uh- huh, ooooo-ooooo-ooooo…

      Like

  20. OK D4 for the approval of the Dodgers society, Dem Bums and the ITD alumn;
    its a start, feel free to edit

    Addicted to winning

    Im a major league Ball player on the Dodgers
    Why I am on this team I do not ponder
    Sometimes I hurt, sometimes hit the ball out of the park
    I like wearing the Blue and I always hope I start
    Because I am addicted to winning, it always the best feeling
    Yes I am addicted to winning, it always helps the healing

    Another city on the road Lets go for a sweep
    Put me in the game so I can compete
    Keep the line-up moving and get those runs batted in
    Soon the ninth inning and I want to win
    Because I am addicted to winning, it always the best feeling
    Yes I am addicted to winning, it always helps the healing

    I practice every day in hopes that I get to Play
    I dream of a walk-off, just like every day Dre
    My glove has no holes, Im accurate when I throw
    Put me in the batter box, smack, watch that baseball Go
    Because I am addicted to winning, it always the best feeling
    Yes I am addicted to winning, it always helps the healing

    I like my teammates, we always have fun
    We back each other up before the game is done
    Discipline at the plate, or diving near the fence
    Kershaw’s curve for strike 3 can really be intense
    Because I am addicted to winning, it always the best feeling
    Yes I am addicted to winning, it always helps the healing

    We are never down as long as we have another inning
    Walk or hit, the Dodgers are ready, playing like it is just beginning
    Steal a base, sacrifice the runner forward, and then there is the big blow
    Took the lead, and more to come, and with the win comes the glow
    Because I am addicted to winning, it always the best feeling
    Yes I am addicted to winning, it always helps the healing

    Like

    • Outstanding…I’ll pass that along to the Mummy and his beautiful entourage…Crash you got a copy? Feel free to post a new thread as well.

      I’ll get to work on the Album cover…

      Like

Comments are closed.