Will #74 shut the door on the 2016 All-Star game?

images

15 thoughts on “Will #74 shut the door on the 2016 All-Star game?

  1. I didn’t see the whole AS game (cannot remember the last time I did with the early start time here in the West) but glad to see Kenley get into the game and strike out the one hitter he did face. I would have liked to see Seager get the at bat with the bases loaded but better someone else failed in that spot. Still, I think this is a great showcase event for MLB and if I ever had to chance to attend an all star game at Dodger Stadium I would do it.

    Like

  2. I don’t see the Dodgers buying or selling… Number one, there is no one out there that would make a significant difference. And, any significant player would cost way too much. We know that FAZ is not going to give up their young talent. I don’t blame them… I don’t look for any huge moves. Maybe a good bullpen arm could be procured for marginal minor league talent. I guess we will see..

    Like

    • Think you’re right Wally. Too much coming off the DL soon that’s better than what you could go out and get for complimentary pieces. Only way I see them doing anything major is if get a piece back that’s an impact player who’s here to stay for a few years.

      Like

  3. I’m starting to show my age, I suppose. I look at the game as a nonevent anymore, with way too much build up and hoopla before we actually get to the game, which the players don’t take that seriously to begin with.
    Even with those taco shirts mlb had to screw with the caps come game time. If there’s another dollar out there they’ll try to get it. Still, I watched the game hoping for NL win. Too bad our guys didn’t get more of a chance to impact the game.

    Like

  4. It was great to see Kenley come through with that ninth inning strikeout. Too bad Andrew Miller a left handed pitcher was on the mound in the 8th inning, and Collins had to pinch hit for Seager. Who knows, what might have been?
    Too bad also, the AL, now 11-3 since it meant the home field, won again.

    Like

  5. Seems pretty silly to me to still tie the WS home advantage to a game where no one takes it seriously. And how can you take it seriously when the whole point is to give as many players as you can an inning or an at bat for their home town fans to cheer about?

    It might even piss me off more than the whole wild card thing.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    But not as much as Ned and Donnie did.

    Like

    • I agree with you on the All-Star game deciding WS home-field advantage, I can’t understand the reason for that. I was against the wild card at the beginning but now only the wild card game. I don’t understand why they make it so hard for them to get to the LDS.
      That said, I’m glad we have a wild card spot to win, it gives all teams two chances..

      Like

  6. As I recall, our good friend (pun definitely intended) tried to make up for an unpopular but perhaps understandable decision a few years ago when he called an All Star game a tie after 10 innings. I believe he did this because both sides had used just about all its players. So in order to make the game more meaningful, he included a prize in every package for the winning league. Prior to that decision home field advantage alternated each year between the two leagues. The problem with this change is it did not change anything about the All Star game itself even if that was the desired goal. As I have said many times, there are too many players on the team making it difficult to manage if the intent is to have the best players on the field to win the game. The All Star game is supposed to be an exhibition but it differs from other all star games in that the players seem to take the game seriously on the field. The players seem to enjoy the experience and want to put on the best show possible for the fans. The only change I think necessary is to enable the DH regardless of the venue. I had hoped the new commissioner would re-evaluate his predecessor’s decision but he does not seem inclined to do so. I have to assume the owners don’t care enough to ask for a change.

    I do like the wild card even if the former wild card system enabled a team to lose its division but still have an equal place in the playoffs. It helped keep interest in the races late into the season. I am concerned that the playoffs extend an already long season into early November and wish somehow the regular season could be shortened. However, the new wild card situation that pits wild card teams against each other in a one game playoff (or play-in as some people have called it) creates an added incentive to win the division. Like it or not it does create a lot of drama for all involve.

    Like

    • Obviously it’s better to win the division. Once you win it you’re in the postseason, so that’s the goal for every team, but as we’ve seen over the years once you win the playoff or play in wild card game, you have the same chance of going all the way as any of the other 3 teams. Just ask the Giants, or any of the other teams that turned the trick. Of course you HAVE to win that game.

      Like

Leave a Reply

