Shiver Me Timbers

davyjones

Ahoy, me mateys!  The man has off an’ traded some prospects for a raspy old fart name of Bud Norris!  Arrgh!  Methinks that Bud is not but a landlubber.  This trade rattles me down to da bones, lads.  We bin hornswaggled again!  The scallywags we got in the front office have done it this time.  Reminds me of the days of Esteban Loaiza, Lurch Hendrickson, Brett Tomko, Kevin Correia, and Fausto Carmona. Fausto! Now that was a right good name for a pirate, mateys!

Least when we had Vicente Padilla we could laugh about when he got shot in the leg! Bud Norris?  We needs to send him to Davey Jones locker.

Now as for the shark bait on the offense, let’s see who dinna pull their weight yesterday:

Howie was 0 for 4 with 2 K’s – Give ‘im the ol’ heave ho!

Scotty Van Slyke with his pinch strikeout – Blimey!

Chris Taylor dinna even swing his lumber

Yasmani gotta dinger, but was only 1 for 4 – Avast!

 

74 thoughts on “Shiver Me Timbers

  1. I dinno, D4, but perhaps if youze go to the pub first, ya see, then work on the truck later, that engine will be a runnin smooth! Kinda like last night when ya shared da rum! Good times all the mateys had!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The bilge rat’s first start for the Dodgers:

    1. Chase Utley (L) 2B
    2. Corey Seager (L) SS
    3. Justin Turner (R) 3B
    4. Adrian Gonzalez (L) 1B
    5. Howie Kendrick (R) LF
    6. Yasiel Puig (R) RF
    7. Trayce Thompson (R) CF
    8. Yasmani Grandal (S) C
    9. Bud Norris (R) P

    Like

  3. This is the first or just a rare start for Utley against a left-hander. With all the injuries, Roberts and the FO have been forced to use a consistent lineup?

    Like

  4. Well, buckos, our lad Joc is hurt and on the DL. Batten down the hatches! The scourge of the seven seas, Will Venable, has been called up to take Joc’s place (on the pine plank).

    Like

  5. Well, Puig still SUCKS! I’m beginning to think that most of these Cubans are over-hyped, but when you throw in an arrogant attitude, you’ve really got a pile of shit.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well I couldn’t bootleg a reception from the smokey bar across the street so I moved my not so pirate arse over there.

    Like

  7. It’s a shame we have to wait till Tuesday for the AS rosters. Stories on the net claim Seager had a late surge in votes in the last week, but were pretty vague as to whether it was enough. He will probably be the only position player from the Dodgers to make it. Kenley should have a good shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Starting to wonder if the FO makes the calls on the bullpen too. Shades of Mattingly with all the unneeded changes.

    Like

  9. I offered to play dude for $100.00. He didn’t have it. Begged his girlfriend for half an hour. I offered to make it $50. He didn’t have it. Begged his girlfriend. Finally I backed out. Told him next time, I’d put up $50. Although if he lost I was bringing clippers and he was getting a Mohawk. We agreed. Then the fool turns to his girlfriend and says any shot for a banana split. You pick the shot. I look at his girlfriend and say…4 rails – side pocket. She did and they haggle for what seemed like an eternity. He hit the shot and came up just short, [he almost pulled it off]. His girlfriend was so happy (I couldn’t hear what she won) she gave me a big high five and a hug. Man I had fun tonight. I caught a buzz…but I’m not too bad off 🙂

    Oh and I met a new friend, that is the drummer in a Black Sabbath Tribute Band. He lives a few blocks away. I’ve been invited to a jam session soon.

    Like

  10. I worked on my hoopty today with the old man. We were able to get that 20 year old beast. Purring like a kitten. I wouldn’t be afraid to drive it anywhere now. Next month…I might make that a reality too.

    Like

  11. Well, I will say this – Bud Norris sure shut my mouth. I’ve been known to eat a little crow, or even a lot at times, but I think I’ll give him a couple more starts before I quite do that. I think he may have been on a special high just getting out of Atlanta and into playoff land. Of course, if he finishes up for us having a good season, with the Front Office that we have, he’s likely to get himself a new three year contract and a bundle. After that things tend to go downhill. But you have to admire a guy who seizes the opportunity, so GO BUD GO.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Norris does look capable of making the most of his chance to do something in LA. I was surprised to see McCarthey will actually be back in a couple of days. I was getting too used to bad news and wasn’t expecting anything good. Well… at least it wasn’t bad news.

    Like

  13. Last night, all the teams battling the Dodgers for position, The Mets, Marlins, Cards and of course the Giants all won. The most important thing is, so did the Dodgers.

    Like

  14. About the only thing going our way so far this season is Greinke’s Diamondbacks struggling to keep up in the division. Besides that, Dodger fans seem to get punched in the face every other day. Let’s just hope neither of the players traded away in the Bud Norris deal come back to bite us in the arse. At least the front office is trying to keep this team afloat. Injuries are a part of the game. The big question is will the fans have enough patience with what the front office is trying to do long term?

    Like

    • I checked Dirks stats a minute ago. Impressive. Funny how just a year ago to the day, I believe? They got him from Atlanta for a slot pick in the international draft.

      Like

  15. Is anyone else viewing the Dodgers live Facebook feed of the Old-Timers warming up before the game? Technology is pretty awesome. My fave was Fernando working out of the stretch, while playing catch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

