Mets Series – 2nd Half

Trayce

Los Angeles Dodgers center fielder Trayce Thompson (21) celebrates with teammates after hitting a game winning walk off home-run in the 9th inning against New York Mets, at Dodger Stadium. Dodgers won 3-2. Los Angeles Calif., Tuesday, May ,10, 2016. (Photo by Stephen Carr / Daily Breeze)

Here’s a new post that should be easier to load.  Also, our pitching should be better in the second half of the series, since the starting pitchers are named Kenta Maeda and Clayton Kershaw.

56 thoughts on “Mets Series – 2nd Half

  1. D4 – Thanks for removing those pictures – I almost lost my lunch! Get well, you are needed in the lineup.

    Tonight’s lineup is missing both D4Life and Justin Turner:

    Utley 2b
    Seager ss
    Kendrick 3b
    Gonzalez 1b
    Grandal c
    Pederson cf
    Puig rf
    Crawford lf
    Maeda p

    When the hell did Kendrick become this team’s best hitter?

    Like

  2. I think Kendrick is coming around. It is Utley who is making it tough for anybody else to play second.
    yeah the throwing error last night, but overall Utley has been great. So Kendrick is platooning all over, to get some games in. What boggles my mind is crawford, at least he is in his proper batting spot, if he really has to be in. But hey Carl Surprise me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just turned on SNY and Scully was being interviewed by Gary Cohen. I didn’t know he was going to be on and I missed most of it. He said “How Ya doin’ N.Y.?”, just as it ended.

    Like

  4. that a tough miss OBF, I liked where I read Terry Collins went up to vinnys booth, he will be realy missed all through baseball, cover of sports illustratrated!
    one last word on last nights game: Trayce made Roberts look like a Savant

    Like

  5. Bullpen did well tonight. A few scary moments from you know who, but glad it worked out. . .
    Here we go!
    Can they do two walk offs in a row?

    Like

  6. Crawford and Kendrick should be sitting. They suck. Kiki and Trayce should be starting.

    I’m not impressed with Roberts so far.

    Like

    • Trayce easily hits right-handed pitching better than Crawford. Let Carl be a pinch hitter. I don’t care if he is paid $22 million per year.

      Like

    • Trouble is, no one but Roberts knows whether the egg heads in the FO are “suggesting” the line-up, day in, day out. Only one month into the season and just about every other day the press writes that Roberts “bristled” at post-game questions about his line-ups and use of players. Roberts did say all this line-up flux will pay dividends come September. Great. Crummy ball it is!….for the rest of the season………

      Like

  7. Making the pitchers walk a tight rope every night isn’t going to leave us with a good enough record. I’ll say it again, until the heart of the order comes to life this is what we’re going to get. I don’t think you can lay this mediocrity off on the pitchers. They are not going to be perfect and should expect some run support.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Still in first place. Still at .500. Still four teams bunched together in mediocrity. Puds not far behind (or “we are just barely not puds”)

    Like

  9. How about that “Wussy-Bat Trio”? by OPS:

    Puig .656
    Crawford .518
    Kendrick .425

    Boy, they really suck. There’s gotta be a song in there somewhere.

    “We Really Suck”, by the Wussy-Bat Trio

    Liked by 1 person

    • You could add Gonzalez and Turner to the group and they’d become “The RuPaul 5” singing thier new single, titled, “Barely Alive”…off of their upcoming album, titled, “Too Lame To Bang!”

      Liked by 2 people

      • Working on “Dreamin’ of a home run”, by The RuPaul Five

        already got the refrain

        ‘Cuz I’m dreamin’ of a home run
        I don’t know when I’ll be up again
        Oh, Dave, please put me in

        Liked by 1 person

  10. This team isn’t all that thrilling to watch play. Sure I turn the game on each night, but since my surgery and the addition of pain pills, keeping my eyes open has been a struggle. The past few nights I’ve switched all the lights off and with my eyes closed listened to Vinny call the games. It’s hard to express how relaxing this is…Vinny is still the best.

    Management has really fucked the public big-time by not making him available to everyone.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Orel, Nomar and whomever…don’t even come close. I say this knowing Hershiser is one of my all time favorite players.

      Like

  11. Got a little progress in the lineup tonight

    Utley 2b
    Seager ss
    Ginger 3b
    A-Gon 1b
    Grandal c
    Joc cf
    Puig rf
    Kike lf
    Kershaw p

    Like

  12. Dreamin’ of a Home Run
    By the RuPaul Five (Howie Kendrick, Carl Crawford, Yasiel Puig, Justin Turner, and Adrian Gonzalez)
    Sung to “Leavin’ on a Jet Plane” by Peter, (Ru)Paul, and Mary

    All my bats are packed, I’m ready to play
    I’m wonderin’ how to hit again
    I would hate to wake up and realize……….

    Carl’s back is breakin’, it’s early spring
    And Howie’s waitin’ to pick a glove
    Puig’s swing has got so many holes that I could die

    So kick me and hit for me
    Tell me that you’ll pay for me
    Hold me like you’ll never let me goooooooo

    ‘Cuz I’m dreamin’ of a home run
    I don’t know when I’ll be up again
    Oh, Dave, please put me in

    Oh-oh the Ginger Man can’t hit no more
    A-Gon’s at bats are a fuckin’ bore
    Utley and Seager are left out on base without a score

    Every time I hit, I don’t give a shit
    Every time I “K”, I “K” for you
    Because I’m here you’ll never get a Series Ring

    So kick me and grin for me
    Tell me that you’ll pay for me
    Hold me like you’ll never let me goooooooo

    ‘Cuz I’m dreamin’ of a home run
    I don’t know when I’ll be up again
    Oh, Dave, please put me in

    Now the time has come get up to bat
    One more time with my wussy bat
    And close your eyes and I’ll hit into a DP

    Dream about your re-org to come
    I’ll be at the bank a-countin’ my cash
    I didn’t have to perform after I signed

    So kick me and hit for me
    Tell me that you’ll pay for me
    Hold me like you’ll never let me goooooooo

    ‘Cuz I’m dreamin’ of a home run
    I don’t know when I’ll be up again
    Oh, Dave, please put me in

    And I’m dreamin’ of a home run
    I don’t know when I’ll be up again
    Oh, Dave, please put me in

    But I’m dreamin’ of a home run
    (Ha ha ha ha)

    On their upcoming album, titled, “Too Lame To Bang!”
    Produced by FAZ Limited

    Liked by 4 people

  13. WOW!! Kershaw!!!
    I have no words! The legend grows. . .
    The bullpen should have a steak dinner for him at least for giving them the night off.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Great game by Kershaw. Growing up, it seemed like Koufax had at least ten strikeouts every time he pitched. Now we find that his maximum consecutive number of such games was four, which Kershaw just exceeded. No other Dodger ever accomplished that feat. I expected a group of midgets in Dodger uniforms to appear and start singing:

    “We welcome you to Dodgerland, Tra la la la la, la la la, la la la…
    From now on you’ll be history.
    You’ll be his…, you’ll be his…, you’ll be history.
    And we will glorify your name.
    You will be a bust, be a bust, be a bust…
    In the Hall of Fame!”

    Liked by 3 people

  15. I like it a little better when the home runs come from our side.
    *
    Kershaw? What else is there to add? Simply the best of his generation.

    Like

  16. I know Kershaw does not like comparisons to Koufax but the only thing stopping Clayton is a convincing playoff/ World Series run.

    Like

Leave a Reply

