Dem Bums Can Beat Padres

Dem Bums 2

Anything to change the luck.

82 thoughts on “Dem Bums Can Beat Padres

      • Totally can’t understand playing Crawford, unless the manager is betting that any game now he’ll put himself on the DL and solve that problem for the longer term. The Front Office should solve that longer term problem by shit-canning Crawford for good, but then they should have done it a season or two earlier.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Seems that Turner was hovering over .300 most of last season with spurts that were north of .350…He’s well below that so far this season.

    Like

    • The obvious answer is Ethier, but only when he is back. The less obvious, but yet still obvious answer is that Kike Hernandez hits right handers just as well as Crawford. And Kike is a much much better fielder than Crawford.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay! Six consecutive losses, and two consecutive series losses in a home stand is totally unacceptable!!
    Roberts has to shake things up somehow! Change the rotation, the batting order, ANYTHING!!!
    I asked for divine intervention when they were at Coors, and it was granted with a wonderful comeback win. Now I’m starting to wonder if I’ll have to do a novena to St. Jude asking for the ending of this horrible slump. . . 😦
    A lot of pressure on our ace tomorrow to help right the ship. . .

    Like

  3. Conclusions I’ve reached after the first month:

    1. Whether the manager is laid back or energetic, it doesn’t matter with this bunch.

    2. Puig is NEVER going to live up to his potential.

    3. This team is more than capable of losing 6 in a row, but with the pitching staff the front office built, both starters and bullpen, it sure as hell isn’t capable of winning 6 games in a row.

    4. Crawford and Kendrick need to be put out to pasture.

    5. No one can teach these guys to hit.

    Like

      • 6. Adrian Gonzales style isn’t gritty enough to lead this bunch anywhere. He will however be playing in the post-season. Whether or not it’s with the Dodgers is yet to be determined…awe who we kidding…He’s Gonzo!

        7. Carl Crawford suggesting that artificial turf ruined him means he realizes he’s severely over-paid and just grazing on 20+ million out on left-field.

        8. 6 games… You must of exhaled in the name of Kershaw?

        Like

  4. Yikes, Beav, you’re scaring me!
    I’m sitting here absorbing another loss and thinking, “Nothing to do but wait this out, they’ll start to hit.”
    But what if Beav is right? It’s a long time ’til the Sooners start fall practice.

    Like

  5. Although the team has seen several hitting gurus in the past few years…I don’t think it’s a matter of teaching them how to hit. They’ve all hit well at times. I think it’s more a matter of teaching them how to prepare mentally in order to adhere to the practice of refusing to lose.

    Like

    • In baseball you must refuse to lose from April – November!

      Adrian would probably say this is pressing. Kirk Gibson would probably punch him in the fucking knoggin’!

      Like

      • I just read an article about how Gibsons favorite thing in 1988 was to say (pertaining to his teammates) What a fucking team! What a damn good fucking team!

        Like

        • I’m not certain but I’m guessing Friedman had some good young ballplayers to assemble a winning team in Tampa due to several years of good draft picks? It looks like they are trying to repeat this process by signing good international players. Mainly Cubans…However the challenge is amplified by the task of creating a bridge between cultural differences and how the game is professionally appraoched. How many of these guys have completely soured, and soured way to soon? How many have a good grasp on a successful future?

          Like

  6. With 6 Gm’s you’d better get back some quality youngsters familiar with American life at the trade-deadline…yeah I’ve already concluded that management will be selling not buying!

    Like

  7. RALLY BANANA MY ASS!!

    SPOTTED BANANAS IS MORE LIKE IT!!

    WHAT A BUNCH OF FUCKING SPOTTED BANANAS! WHAT A BUNCH OF DAMN FUCKING SPOTTED BANANAS!

    Like

    • Tommy used to fight guys in the dugout that didn’t possess a winning attitude. Fuck this new aged liberalized locker room crap! You ain’t having fun through winning, I damn sure ain’t gonna let you enjoy your baseball life when you’re losing. I don’t give a damn if you’re the first person on the plane or not. Be the first person to cross homeplate!!

      Like

  8. I’m always wondering what it is that all these highly paid Front Office people do – like from 9:00 in the morning till whenever they go home at night? It seems like it is just a collection of names of people who at one time had some important job at another baseball franchise. If they really had any special baseball ability, they should be in the Hall of Fame. Here they are assembled in the Dodgers Front Office, probably no-one making less that $1 million a year, and yet this assembly is having no impact on the field of play – or maybe a bad impact. Does anybody here think that the Guggs really know what the F they’re doing in baseball? If they ran the investment business like they run baseball, they’d never have accumulated the money necessary to buy this franchise. Wouldn’t that have been wonderful!

    Like

  9. Can’t hit – Sucks
    Lose 6 in a row – Sucks
    Still in first place (after one month of baseball) – Priceless my ass!
    Perspective – Ridiculously Lame!!

    Like

  10. Here’s what I’d write on the fucking board!

    If you don’t score a fucking run today! You’re getting neutered tomorrow!

    Perspective – Cross Homeplate Be-atch!

    Like

  11. Nothing says “Winner” like a Chia-Pet give away!!!

    Perspective – leave gardening to the gardener, you fucking tulips!

    Like

  12. You know what!

    Let’s just forfelt today’s game and board the plane to Tampa early…

    There will be free cotton candy for everyone that is inside of the fuselage before Puig!!

    That sounds like fun…

    Like

  13. D4, you know the single most thing on this team that tells me they’re self absorbed, especially Gonzo? The phantom selfie when they hit a home run. That there tells me they’re focused on themselves and not the team. Until they change the culture in the minors to one of winning and playing the game the right way, and they start shedding the self-absorbed multi-millionaires who’s only contribution to team leadership is the phantom selfie, nothing on this club is ever going to change. Only three vets I’d keep on this team are Kenley, Utley and Kersh. Crawford should’ve been cut in ST. Kendrick should’ve never been re-signed.

    And there’s also something wrong when you’re two main GMs who have been using advanced metrics successfully for other teams use those same metrics here and have virtually everybody they acquire fail, especially the pitchers. What is it that happens to these players when the don the blue? Its like they suddenly fall off a cliff. Avilan, Hatcher, Wood – none of them look like they’ve ever pitched beyond little league after we get them yet were perfectly fine before. There are no excuses for the FO though for Kazmir and McCarthy.

    I don’t get it.

    Like

    • I agree…I also don’t get it? Although, I haven’t given much thought to the subject until today. I will say they’ve taken the boredom part of money management and inserted it into DodgerLand!!

      I can hardly watch this crap.

      Like

      • Plus I’ve heard enough of Adrian and his bullshit over the past few years…I’m sick of everyone’s bullshit over the years to be truthful. Alex Wood was hurt! Hatcher was hurt! From what I’ve read Wood wasn’t excactly excelling in Atlanta…they obviously let him go…

        Like

  14. It looks as if I’m headed to the Emergency Room as soon as today’s game is over. I’ve torn the skin around where my hernia is bulging through and can’t stop bleeding. I’m guessing I’ll be having my surgery earlier than Friday? I can stop the blood if I sit still, but I woke up in a puddle of the stuff and just walked across my room leaving a trail.

    Like

  15. Sure sounds like it. I hope you can get this turned around and soon.
    The chia pet comment shows you haven’t lost your barbed sense of humor, which is a good sign.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I’m not in much pain at the moment. I was a week or so ago when I strained it. The budget is poking through my belly button, and I’ve been agitating it by coughing for a week. The skin has been stretched to its max. It only bleeds when I move. Which I have no plans to do for the next 4 hours.

    Like

    • Things could be a lot worse…so I’ll hang on to my humor as you said…I’m not looking forward to the being knocked out…both times I tried to jump off the cart when I came through…one time I thought I owned a taco truck that was on fire…the other time the cart was moving down the hall and I tried to get a roast out of the oven.

      Like

      • I’m thinking this time I may hit for the cycle to bring the Dodgers a World Series…I’ll probably end up doing a headfirst slide into the waiting room or something?

        Like

    • Thanks…I think I’ll make it another 4 hours. I don’t want to miss one game with Vinny. I talked to my surgeon yesterday…he told me to put guage on it. Then come see him Monday. If it worsens go to the E.R.! It won’t bleed again until I get up to take a shower…that will hold.

      Like

  17. This club is gonna fly across the country after the game. They will then play 5 games on turf. Afterwards they will fly back across the country and face the red-hot Mets…and we think they’re taking a beating now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

