State of the Dodgers

Dodgers-ST

The Dodgers cut Matt West today, so that brings the roster down to forty-two players.  Of those forty, at least five have some lengthy injuries – Andre Ethier, Brandon McCarthy, Brett Anderson, Hyun-Jin Ryu, and Frankie Montas.  Note that four of the five are pitchers and starting pitchers at that.

That leaves the Dodgers with 37 “healthy” players still in the big-league camp.  Well, actually a bunch are banged up, including Corey Seager, Mike Bolsinger, Brandon Beachy, and Yasmani Grandal.  We could call it 33 fairly healthy players and four banged up players.  Anyway, twelve guys still need to be cut before opening day.  Let’s take a look at who is still there, and will they stay or will they go.

Starting Pitchers

Clayton Kershaw (duh), Scott Kazmir, Kenta Maeda (not sure whether Kazmir or Maeda will be #2), Alex Wood (#4), and some guys competing for the #5 role:  Carlos Frias, Brandon Beachy, and Mike Bolsinger.  Seven guys – two will get cut at some point.  If Carlos Frias is still healthy on Opening Day, he may be the #5 starting pitcher – at least for the fifth game of the season.

Bullpen

Kenley Jansen, Chris Hatcher, JP Howell, Joe Blanton, Pedro Baez, Luis Avilan, Yimi Garcia, Louis Coleman, Jamey Wright, Adam Liberatore (or is it Lipitor?), and Josh Ravin.  Eleven guys – four will get cut.

Catchers

Yasmani Grandal, AJ Ellis, and Austin Barnes.  Unless Barnes hangs on as a super utility guy, he will likely be cut.

Infielders

Adrian Gonzalez, Howie Kendrick, Corey Seager, Justin Turner, Chase Utley, Kike Hernandez, Charlie Culberson, Elian Herrera, Rob Segedin, and Alex Guerrero.  Unless something strange happens, then Culberson, Herrera, and Segedin will be cut.  Dare I say that Guerrero will not be an LA Dodger on Opening Day?

Outfielders

Yasiel Puig, Joc Pederson, Carl Crawford, Scott Van Slyke, Trayce Thompson, and Rico Noel.  I would guess that Trayce stays on as the fifth outfielder, while Rico Noel is cut.

 

 

 

64 thoughts on “State of the Dodgers

  1. New post up – just say goodbye to some of these guys. “See you later” will suffice to those going to Oklahoma City.

    Like

    • I thought Lee was in a holding pattern? It may also be possible that we pick up another arm that just couldn’t find room on another clubs roster to fill in as #5??? What was that guys name last season Latoast or something to that effect?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Zach Lee was moved over to the minor-league camp on March 20th. You are correct, he could easily be moved back over and become the #5 starter.

        Matt “Latoast” Latos signed as a free agent with the Chicago White Sox for $3 million. He got shelled in his first spring training start – 4 2/3 innings, eleven hits, seven earned runs.

        Like

  2. Hard to believe things could get much worse for the Dodgers with the news about Ethier. Funny how a player many of us thought would not still be in a Dodger uniform when the season began last year is now the only “known” quantity outfielder this year. Wonder what this team will look like when Andre returns.

    At least there is some positive news that TWC has finally lowered its price in the hopes other systems will come on board. Meanwhile, the Dodgers are drawing big crowds in Arizona.

    Like

    • Andre will be back with a vengeance in the 2nd half of the season. I can just imagine that he is still swinging the bat, but with no weight on his right leg.

      Like

  3. What do the Dodgers receive per year from TWC? Isn’t it in the neighborhood of $230 million. Reports say that TWC has been losing $100 million per year. It seems if the Dodgers can write off all these mega contracts to reshuffle the player payroll…a few years of lower tv fees would be in order to reshuffle the TV payroll. The current suggestion is for one year only and is bieng attached to Vinny’s legacy once again. This time with the mayor, the league and others praising the discount. I don’t think enough is being done to appease the community…it’s just more propagana and political fast penciling if you ask me…

    Like

      • Instead of paying for our own college education after graduation…lets sign up to pay for everyone’s education after graduation…somehow me thinks “Feel the Bern” is code for an endless wagon train of Clydesdale’s pulling an endless supply of kegs down State University Blvd.

        Like

  4. The TV deal really isn’t my fight as I no longer reside in the area in question…but for the record…I liked the family farm better than the corporate farm. I liked the mom and pop store better than Walmart and I liked the Dodgers brand better when it wasn’t just a brand.
    .
    If the majority of folks are willing to accept the way things are now, so be it.

    Like

      • Maybe it’s akin to a carpenter swinging a hammer and he just needs some time to build up endurance? Come to think of it though, good thing he’s not a carpenter ’cause he wouldn’t get any sympathy.

        Like

        • Makes me think back to my first day stocking sheetrock. My partner agreed to split the bundle and break me in with one sheet. The next bundle remained intact. That was a rough day, week, month, year…year two and three went by much easier though…there is a little muscle on the other side of your elbow (inner arm side) that takes two weeks or so to develop… life sucks until then. Funny thing is though, is this doesn’t hurt when you’re carrying the sheetrock. It hurts like hell when you aren’t carrying the sheetrock.

          Like

          • Before stocking sheetrock I was a 90 pound weakling who attended weekly keggars. There was this tough guy that would give me crap too. I would just let him to save my ass. After a year of stocking sheetrock I stood up to him one night. He told me he’d bite my fingers off and spit them out…so I stuck my finger in his mouth and told him to go ahead. He bit down pretty hard, but was afraid to bite all the way through and declared me tougher than he thought. I offered him a job since he was unemployed at the time. I beat him up so bad that first day…we’de take shortcuts through the wall studs and I’d push the bottom of the rock out so his knuckles would scrape. Then I’d push the top out so it appeared the sheet was sailing off, when he’d turn to grab it I’d pull back and smack him in the nose. I did that so much that day I rubbed the skin off of his face. I went to pick him up for work the second day and his mommy told me he was sick. I laughed so hard!

            Like

            • This is the same way they treated me…that first day, week, month, year…at some point you figure out how to manipulate sheetrock instead of it manipulating you…and this makes life easier for the guy on the opposite end. Because if you don’t keep your back straight and work together as a team, you’re gonna encounter serious problems and ain’t no one gonna give you any sympathy. Compensation for this privilege was 18 cents per sheet. Most everyone had a goal of $200 a day. I will always remember that 556 sheets is just over $100.

              Like

  5. Tomorrow before the sun rises…I’m finally getting my gallbladder removed. They will also repair a hernia that I encountered while carrying sheetrock at the age of 43…about 25 years past my prime. Compensation for the privilege of acquiring a hernia at age 43. $12 an hour without any benefits. My employer of 13 years asked me to do it against my better judgement. I ain’t complaining though and it all worked out in the long run, plus my kids were clothed and fed in the process. This same employer called me about a year ago and I finally had to tell him my time was up. We remain good friends…

    Like

      • Thanks, the Doctor said he was gonna take care of me and I’ve been told he is one of the best around. Besides they’ve run me through the test gauntlet for the past year…which is how I ended up with the medication that has made the major improvements to my health.

        Like

  6. Back when I first began working for this employer he was a young 19 year old kid. He’d been married about two weeks and fired his only other employee 5 minutes after my presence upon the work site. He was one of the top 100 Supercross riders in the country at the time and spent weekends chasing Jeremy McGrath around places like the Big A and other west coast tracks. He was a little high spirited back then and not the most experienced boss. After about 6 months he decided he would take his bride on a honeymoon to Jamacia. During that week I was forced to work extra hours and weekends to keep the ball rolling. He left me his truck and all the tools, but gave me this long drawn out lecture about how and where to drive the truck. I was 10 years his senior with a family to support, so I didn’t feel his worries were all that warranted. He told me he knew the excact mileage to all the jobs and back. And had devised a way to tell if I drove his truck in a wreck less manner. We were sub contracting work from his father at the time. Anyhow that first day I showed up an hour early so I could drive his truck in circles around the sub division in order to run up the speedometer and was doing just that when his dad stopped me to ask if I was having trouble finding the worksite? I showed his dad the list of truck directives I was given and explained I was trying to put on an extra few miles to see the reaction on his face when he returned. His dad got a kick out of this ’cause his son had so many speeding tickets he was no longer insurable through the family plan. I knew as long as the workload was finished my joke would be worthwhile. Like I said this kid was relentless back then…nice guy, fun guy, but was a little too eager when it came to cracking the company whip. Especially since at the time the company consisted of me and him. He had one of them truck phones that honked real loud when a call was coming in…cell phones were just beginning to catch on and I didn’t tell him I bought one. When I needed a break, I’d dial his number and make the horn honk…in order to shut it off I had to hang up…which wasn’t gonna happen…or he had to stop working and answer the phone. This would give me just enough time to take a few drags off my cig. I’d watch him out the window with a smile on my face. For about a week he kept trying to figure out whose number this was…I got drunk one night and called him and the gig was up. He got rid of the truck phone soon after that. He wouldn’t stop for lunch back then cause his nice wife made him two bologna sandwiches to eat each day. Mine told me I was on my own…so I would request a quick stop…which was always denied. So one morning when he wasn’t looking I ate one of his sandwiches. He didn’t catch on until noon and was flabbergasted that his wife only gave him one, instead of two. He went home and chewed her out…the next day, I got a lecture on sandwich consumption. He loved donuts…but was in training to ride his bike. So I bought a box of Hostess Raspberry filled goodies and put them on the dash. He stared at them for about half day before rolling down his window and chucking them out onto the interstate…I laughed so hard. The next day I put another box on the dash. He was just as good at torturing me…we had some fun times. He was always running stop signs to shed off time traveling…he figured out that if he did this enough over the course of a year he could save money…4 way stop with a clear shot…he was running it. He also would cross traffic to catch an onramp rather than do the big circle from the correct side…I don’t know how well his plan worked cause every once in a while a police cruiser would turn on the lights behind us…and again I’d just sit there and laugh.

    Like

  7. He asked me for advice one time so I gave it to him. He didn’t like what I said and told me to shut up. I didn’t speak to him for a week. I’d just stare out the window and ignore him. We worked side by side everyday back then. It would of been two weeks but I had to ask for my paycheck. His response was, he can speak! He never told me to shut up again though. One time he to get even I talked in a loud abnormal voice all day…I mean really loud and abnormal. All the other trades were laughing at us…he kept telling me to knock it off, but I was mad. I knew he wouldn’t send me home so he was stuck! After a few years the company grew and we had a bunch of guys…one time we’de been working a lot of hours and it was a couple hours after the sun went down this particular day. The crew was asking to go home…but he would release anyone. He finally said we can go home when all the mud is gone. I called a team huddle minus him and told everyone to dump the buckets out a window. He was impressed on how fast we accomplished this feat. The next morning he caught on though…this was one of his old tricks we used on his father, so he knew I was behind it.

    Like

  8. One time when it was just the two of us…we needed help, so J, the kid, asked one of his Supercross friends to help out. They didn’t know much, but showed up everyday and kept their mouth shut. I could not remember the persons name, so I referred to them as Little Buddy. Come on Little Buddy, J wants us over here…Good work, Little Buddy! This went on for about a week, when one morning J and I walked into a house and standing there in a worn out undershirt with no bra and a nice rack was Little Buddy! Turns out it wasn’t one of his Supercross friends after all. It was his Supercross friends wife…J fired her on the spot against my plea’s to let Little Buddy finish out the day. Little Buddy was a stripper at one point in her life, she was just dressed incognito to work construction. She reminded me of the lead singer from Twisted Sister, that is until her last day on the job.

    Like

  9. “Do me a favor kid! Go out there and beat ’em for me!”

    Don Drysdale: referring to my Little League Dodgers against his Sporting Goods Giants!!

    Big D and Hershiser are without a doubt, my all-time favorite Dodgers.

    Like

  10. I think if someone else would have pitched the first 5 innings for the Dodgers, last night, it wouldn’t have been a bad outing.

    Like

    • Was telling Eric the other day, you buy broken you get broken. Same goes for you buy old, you get old. Ned might as well be putting this roster together. Has all his hallmarks.

      Like

  11. My gallbladder Had completely disintegrated. This was a new one on the Doctor. He had to summon help. His help had never seen this before
    Now here for 10 days.

    Like

  12. Take care D4; hope things improve for you.

    I have thought a lot about the TV deal. I am a TWC customer so I can see the games but I have no illusion I am not paying for this privilege. Of course, not knowing exactly how much makes it seem less painless. I still recall a few years ago a dispute with TWC that left the Dodgers off the air for part of the season and while I did not like it, we listened on the radio and went on with our lives. Watching the Dodgers is a big part of my life but I do not believe there is an inherent right to be able to see games on TV whether it be so called “free” TV or cable. I know the Dodgers televised games in Brooklyn but when the team came out west the only games we saw on TV were Sunday games against the Giants. Clearly Walter O’Malley could have had a TV deal in 1958 but he wanted to fill seats in the stadium and felt giving the product away would hurt ticket sales. With the Dodgers now drawing 3.7 million fans to Dodger Stadium, that argument vanishes.

    However, because the Dodgers did show a lot of games on “free” TV and cable prior to creating SportsnetLA, fans have a right to feel left out by the pricing dispute. Just think if McCourt had been able to hold out a bit longer; we probably would be in a similar position. TWC and the Dodgers grossly overpriced their current TV deal and now we have one side losing a ton of money and desperately trying to sell itself and the other with all the money with no intention of giving any of it back.

    At first when I saw that TWC was willing to grant a 30% discount I thought this was the break that could lead to a realistic deal that other systems could accept. I did not realize the deal was for one year only, so I understand now why at least so far there have been no takers. One year does not make any business sense. Imagine Direct TV taking the deal for this season only to revert back tot he dispute and shut out customers next season when the deal is off the table?

    Finally, I agree with Vinny. Stop using his name to try to shame the parties into a settlement. It is embarrassing and self serving. This I not about Vinny. This is about corporate greed.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’ve been a die-hard fan since 1969, and in all those years this TV disaster is for, for me, the most egregious happenstance in those 47 years—far, far worse than Mr. Piazza being shipped out to Miami or poor Mr. Campanis falling on his face while talking to Ted Koppel. Yes, the Dodgers weren’t always on TV…but Vinny was broadcasting every inning on the radio, minus the 3rd and 7th for a bit of respite while Doggett or Porter manned the helm. It’s Vin Scully I miss most, not the nuts and bolts of any given game. And when he retires, what with free agency and players coming and going, what’s left to be a Dodger fan? As long as God wills that I remain attached to this planet I will have a hard time ever forgiving the Guggenheim suits for this breach of the public trust. A middle finger to them all.

    Like

  14. Watching the game last night really got me thinking about how it will be without Scully. In all my 68 years of following these Bums, I only witness two years without him. It will be strange not expecting to see and hear him. I know there are many of you that never witnessed it without him.

    Like

  15. I have been listening to Vinny since the Dodgers came to Los Angeles in 1958. Most of what I know about the game of baseball and its history is through him. It is hard for me to imagine what his life has been like, especially during the season. Countless late nights, traffic, hours of preparation, travel and being away from home, recording promos and commercials, production meetings, and who knows what else he has had to endure. I cannot recall ever hearing anything in his voice that would make me feel he would rather be somewhere else or that his viewers/listeners were not constantly on his mind. Most of us would be hard pressed to say we could have done his job for so long and with the same enthusiasm. He has told the story so many times about sitting under the radio for the roar of the crowd. Imagine, as listeners and viewers we have been enthralled by what he has said when his best moments are when he said nothing. To me he is most genuine when he says he gets his energy from the fans and that is what he will miss most.

    At least for the past few years we have been accustomed to Dodger games without Vinny. Perhaps he did us all a favor when he decided to cut back. It will not be the same but the Dodgers will go on without him.

    Like

  16. Thanks everyone…The Doc said my insides were a mess, big infection. The good news is the hospital carries the Mariners channel. So I get today’s early game 🙂

    Like

  17. Well, D4, doesn’t look like you’re going to be available for a week or two, so the rest of us better start looking around for our gloves and shoes. We probably will not start out the season in the majors, but at the rate the players continue to go down, the Dodgers will need someone to fill in. Probably in AA. And what’s with these hats with the “D” on them. For some reason I hate it when the uniform gets screwed with. Like the year all the teams had the swoopy things on the side of the hats during ST. I figure it’s just the team’s BS attempt to sell more gear.
    *
    On a more serious, important note: GET BETTER, D4!!!!

    Like

    • Thanks. I’m working on it. Although my life as it stands is 3 shots of Morphine and an hour nap. I’m on nap #36. They gave me a button to push, sort’a like the old chicken that need some corn. It makes me wait 10 minutes for more kernels though.

      Have fun on the fields…wish I could join ya! Zzzzzzzzzzzzz…

      Like

  18. The injuries and ailments continue to plague the Dodgers although I see Seager played yesterday. Hopefully the Dodgers will end spring training on a high note and put all of this stuff behind as we get closer to opening day.

    Like

  19. Just checking in to say Happy Birthday to Oldbrooklynfan and jhall! Also, get better soon D4!!

    As for the Dodgers, the injury bug has got to stop!

    Game 1 of 162 one week away! Opening Day should be a holiday 🙂

    Like

  20. I’m sure we all appreciated the fine performance by Maeda to keep our minds off all the injuries. It’s good to have some good with all the bad.

    Like

    • Yesterday’s lineup made Joe’s Sunday Lineup look like a walk in the park. There’s so many major leaguers injured, that they have to fill in with a bunch of A+ and AA players.

      Like

Leave a Reply

