Think! Tink! Think?

Just a short thread about pixie dust until the author’s of this blog can come up with something better…

hqdefault

Pixie Dust Definition:  a substance or influence with an apparently magical effect that brings great success or luck.

**************************************************************************

What changes to the system do you think we shall see under new manager “Dave Doc Roberts”?

Crash has already come up with the thought of maybe improving the running game by stealing more bases. This is an area “Roberts” excelled at as a player. He will have some young legs in Puig, Pederson, Seager, and Hernandez. With this thought process Crash has also brought to the forefront, the unorthodox sliding technique in which some of the youngsters display and wonders if a change will come about?

Beav has already laid out his thought foundation of wanting the team to return to playing more of an N.L. style game in 2016. While also transitioning away from some of the heftier PVL contracts to date.

Birks idea of a competitive team is one that believes it can win every game, plays smart, can overcome adversity, is resilient, has everyone believing in the common goal, puts team above individual performance, works together, keeps its “dirty laundry” in the clubhouse/locker room, has players who know their roles when that is appropriate and hopefully also has players who can step in when required by injury to other players. I am sure there are other attributes that could be added to this list. The wins will come…according to him..

Oldbrooklynfan believes we should resign “Kendrick” to play second. Although, from what I’ve seen in print, the FO appears ready to move in another direction. Kendrick was still available last I checked and on somewhat of a smaller than previously anticipated contract, might be a good idea.

Griz has wondered out loud about the bullpen and bats and I plan on giving this more thought in the coming days as well?

Myself, I ran across a stat that made me believe, that even know we have some younger guys on the field, “Roberts” will demand a team that doesn’t make senseless mistakes. (He was the 10th Dodgers player in history with consecutive 40 steal seasons and committed his first career error on April 22 against the Cincinnati Reds, snapping a streak of 406 attempts without an error.)

Kahli claims to be growing more out of touch with the organization as the sun sets and rises each day. His thoughts about not being able to view a  piece of Dodger history, since 1950, in what is highly likely to be his farewell season, should concern everyone.

Tru-Mom and Messagebear seem to be happy campers at the moment, as they’ve been awfully quiet these past few days. I’m sure they’ll check in soon.

Koufax could possibly be on a sabbatical until someone, anyone mentions alcohol and baseball in the same sentence? Which I just accomplished…

Shad, I suspect is either researching stats somewhere, or manning a shovel at the cemetery of legends… Let’s hope he’s busy running stats, even if those stats are basketball and football related at the moment. I have faith he’ll run some Dodger related numbers by us at some point.

Sparkleplenty is probably gathering pixie dust to bestow on the field as we speak… I look forward to her presence and thoughts about the upcoming season soon as well.

ZonaDodger according to the last comment, may show up while rowing a canoe, with breaking news of a completed Maeda contract… I hope the weather is treating you well Zona.

VL4, DodgerEric, NellyJune, NorthStateBlues, Collie, Wally and Countless Others… still remain unavailable in this present day and age…But I have faith that we shall become blessed with their presence again in the future…After all, without displaying faith in your friends, what’s a life about?

All-You-Need-Is-Faith-Trust-Pixie-Dust-star-wall-decor-art-murals-home-decorations-living

Dodger4life and I collaborated in scripting this thread. It was his idea to begin with Tinkerbell.

 

90 thoughts on “Think! Tink! Think?

  1. I’m not exactly a happy camper…..just waiting to see what we look like as we head to Spring Training. Right now, I think we aren’t as good on paper as the Dbacks. However, playing the game on the field makes a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Me a Happy Camper – NO! What have we really accomplished with the highest annual payroll ever?
    I would be at least medium happy if a lot of heads rolled. I totally blame the Guggenholes and the oversized and totally worthless assembly of so-called Front Office talent – if anybody has been near a GM position anywhere, they’ll have a home and huge unwarranted pay in the Dodgers’ Front Office. The whole thing should be blown up and started all over again.
    Boycott and bankruptcy is all I wish for the Guggenholes in the New Year.

    Like

  3. I’m glad Piazza is in the hall, but I’m surely not pleased he’ll go in as a Met. We have certainly been blessed with less than stellar ownership the last 20-25 years. The jury is still out for me concerning the Gugs, but I wonder if Branch Rickey and Walter O’Malley would approve of this FO, even partially, or are they rolling over in their graves.

    Like

  4. Yes been raining 4 straight days here in Az lol…Finally getting a break from it today…Congrads Piazza…Agree a lot with tru…Really should of resigned Greinke…Anyway spring training right around the corner and we shall see

    Like

  5. I’m still upset with O’Malley selling to Fox. If we are asking Piazza to get over his “grudge” about being traded (his outlandish comments about Vinny is another thing), should I be expected to get over my feelings as well? No logic here, I still get upset when I hear or see a clip of Bobby Thomsen’s home run in 1951 and I was only 4 years old at the time and unaware of it until many years later.

    Like

  6. “Piazza has said he believes the Dodgers shipped him off to the Marlins rather than to pay him fair market value when he was set to become a free agent. Instead, the Mets showed him the money, forking over a seven-year, $91-million deal. He’s also said he believes legendary announcer Vin Scully — allegedly upset with Piazza’s decision to give the Dodgers a deadline in their contract extension talks — turned people in Los Angeles against him.”

    Oh brother….

    Like

  7. lbirk, a bit of revisionist history, from a 2010 article:

    On May 14, 1998, the deal was done, with Piazza and Zeile going over to the Marlins and Sheffield, Bonilla, Johnson, Eisenreich and Barrios joining the Dodgers. The Marlins, however, had no plans to keep either Piazza or Zeile around. Eight days later, Piazza was gone to the Mets for Preston Wilson, Geoff Goetz and Ed Yarnall, while on July 31 they traded Zeile for Daniel De Young and Jose Santo.

    Piazza would play for the Mets until 2005, while Zeile would play for five more teams after lasting a little over a season with the Rangers. Sheffield played with the Dodgers through 2001. Bonilla and Johnson moved on from the Dodgers after 1998, and Eisenreich would retire, Preston Wilson had a good career with the Marlins, Rockies and Cardinals, while none of the other players mentioned ever had more than a cup of coffee in the majors.

    So who won? Who lost? Or neither? The main teams involved were the Marlins, Mets and Dodgers. The Marlins tore apart their roster, but built it back up enough to win a World Series in 2003. The Mets, with Piazza behind the plate, made nice playoff runs in 1999 and 2000, while the Dodgers could never really get their feet off the ground with Fox.

    lbirk, as nasty as the Fox ownership group was, they never held a city hostage, in terms of Vin Scully, like the Guggs have done. Maybe it’s Piazza’s revenge!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  8. lbirk, I’m the same age as you and I also get po’d when I see that Thompson clip every f*****g the Dodgers play the giants. If we had five bucks for every time I’ve seen that damn thing, we could have bought the Dodgers. And settled this ridiculous tv issue.

    Like

  9. In all this TV debate let’s not forget to give MLB and Siegel in particular their due. They never stepped up to handle McCourt in the proper manner, from letting him have the franchise in the first place when he was too highly leveraged to when he filed for bankruptcy, which was clearly against the MLB rules. In my mind they all rigged the bidding for the franchise to the point where the Guggenholes got the advantage without having any baseball history or acumen. Of course, the MLB owners all benefited, because everybody’s franchise got valued at a higher level. They didn’t care if the cable company paid an inordinate amount for the broadcast privilege – one which they couldn’t recoup so as to make those broadcasts available to the general public. So, nobody at the MLB level looked out for the fans; such a surprise. That’s typical and one reason why I’m not on the side of major professional sports.

    Like

  10. I think I posted this in the wrong place… So here it is again:

    dodgereric saw the future…a blast from the past on the TV angst:

    dodgereric says:
    January 26, 2013 at 1:49 PM
    Oh, the TV contract. As a Dish subscriber, I can’t say I’m too thrilled by it. They never did get on board with the Laker games. Not that missing all those losses is really hurting me. If Vin isn’t a part of it, THAT will seriously have to be addressed. But if Vin is included, I will change to whatever service available to me carries them. Direct eventually took the Laker package.

    lbirken says:
    February 18, 2014 at 10:22 PM
    We still cannot get McScrooge off our mind. The bottom line is this organization has lacked clear, concise leadership and vision since the last few years of the O’Malley era. Actually, I think Peter O’Malley did have a vision and he didn’t like what he saw and decided to bail. Each owner since had the potential to do great things but unfortunately each of those owners had an agenda that had little to do with winning championships. They gave lip service to winning but did not “walk the talk”. I think that is what caused me to contain my enthusiasm when Guggenheim took over and while I admire what Magic Johnson has accomplished in the business world, I still had reservations because he was the only known quantity and yet his role was not clearly defined. I do think Stan Kasten knows what he is doing but agree it is interesting that both Ned and Donnie have been retained. I am trying to put out of my mind the reason for all these moves is that Guggenheim also has an agenda besides winning championships. This group paid a lot of money for the Dodgers and negotiated a sweetheart media deal that offers nothing to the fans (really, do we need 24 hours of Dodger flavored content and another cable channel?) that we did not already have as far as television coverage is concerned.

    So what does this all mean? It means higher ticket prices and potentially higher cable bills down the road and for the short run it means a lot of fans will be deprived of watching the Dodgers on TV unless this new cable channel is made available on all systems. Smart business? Perhaps, but not smart public relations.

    kahliforni says:
    March 21, 2014 at 9:56 AM
    WOW!!!! Opening Day! Couldn’t be more excited. Haven’t missed watching Opening Day since……………..well, now……. Thank you Time-Warner and the Guggenheim Foundation for putting the fans at the forefront of your shared vision. Hey, at least I’ll get Vinnie for two innings on the radio. And speaking of Vinny, what a great gift to the legend as begins his 65th year in the booth and 86th year on Earth…to know he’s reaching 30% of his beloved audience.

    lbirken says:
    March 21, 2014 at 10:55 PM
    With every FB post by the Dodgers comes negative comments about the TV situation. I do think a deal will be done soon but it is a shame the Dodgers and TWC allowed this to happen.

    Like

  11. Now that it looks like the rotation, at least the pitchers we’ll use are settled, I guess we’re going to start reading about what the FO is going to do with the rest of the team.

    Like

  12. Morning everyone…
    .
    Somehow I missed the fact that the front office will/may grow by one former GM
    (Anthopoulos).

    I did some quick reading this morning and came up with nothing…

    Perhaps the Guggs, each need a GM of their own? (Which got me thinking?) I just ran an advertisement in the Penny Saver. DBTB is gonna hire a couple of GM’s to work closely with Messagebear and the Beav. (Doug Colletti called and left a voice message…said, he’s heard good things about our organization.)

    Perhaps they feel like they can overwhelm other teams GM’s in trade scenarios now?

    Zaidi: “Think about it, Cleveland? You’d be a fool not to listen to 4 1/2 former GM’s saying you’d benefit from taking Crawford and Guerrero for a cubic yard of Hubba Bubba and and a 2 cubic yards of organic shroom manure! These guy’s won’t be around much longer… Colorado say’s, they’ll throw in a new tractor and a freshly picked box of Shiitake’s too…But we’d hate to see these two above average and plus win players in our own division. What do you say? I’ll bet we can swindle a box of Shiitakes out of Colorado anyhow. Pull the trigger today and we’ll forward those to you as well…”

    Funny though, one of the first articles I read about Antropoulos was that the media believed he wasn’t keen on being micro-managed by Mark Shapiro…

    Like

  13. I think,since it hasn’t been that way the last couple of years, the NL West will be tight between the Dodgers, Giants and Dbacks. I think the out come will be a toss up. It would be good to see the Dodgers get to the World Series with this being Scully’s last year in the booth. It looks close, anything can happen.

    Like

  14. Morning again everyone…
    .
    Just for fun…
    .
    What would your plate song be for Opening Day 2016? (Pretend you get to walk to home plate and help the boys win.)
    .
    Pick one that best describes you…
    .
    If you can’t? I’m sure I can help you out.

    Like

  15. Spit-balling the starting lineups:

    Against left-handed starting pitchers:

    Kike 2b
    Puig rf
    Seager ss
    Turner 3b
    Gonzalez 1b
    Van Slyke lf
    Trayce Thompson cf
    Ellis c
    pitcher

    Against right-handed pitchers:

    Pederson cf
    Puig rf
    Seager ss
    Turner 3b
    Gonzalez 1b
    Grandal c
    Ethier lf
    Utley 2b
    pitcher

    I’m open to criticisms – what doesn’t work for you? Who the heck is going to lead off against right-handers? How many games can Turner really play on his gimpy knees? Will catcher be a platoon situation? Can Seager hit in the 3-slot, or move him down and have Turner and Gonzalez do the #3 and #4 again?

    Like

      • The person needs to consistently get on base. Maybe Puig. Maybe Seager. Pederson is not the guy, unless he can get his bat straightened up.

        Like

        • Revised lineup against right handed starters?

          Seager ss
          Puig rf
          Turner 3b
          Gonzalez 1b
          Grandal c
          Ethier lf
          Utley 2b
          Pederson cf
          pitcher

          Wonder if Grandal is going to be ready out the gate for Spring Training after his shoulder surgery???

          Like

          • I wouldn’t count Crawford out as the lead-off guy…If he can make it through the Spring healthy and doesn’t end up somewhere else. He has the experience and legs and as we seen last year after Rollins faltered, experimenting didn’t work all that long. I believe Seager has what it takes to be a star someday, and that day will come sooner than later. I do think he will have his ups and downs along the way this season though. I also wouldn’t wage against another body joining the squad. I mean you never can tell with this front office what’s just around the bend? As far as Grandal goes…I think he has the type of soul and determination that will make him a comeback player for the squad this season. A.J. does as well, keeping them both healthy should be on the agenda if you ask me. A.J. could fit the bill as the valued bat off the bench…if he didn’t have to be the emergency catcher. He has that drive in him which to me says, success doesn’t require 4 plate attempts a day. This is all off the top of my head, and not stuff I have given much thought to though….call it my sporadic gut instinct.

            Like

  16. Crash stepped up to the plate first, so he’s our lead-off guy… I figure since Oldbrooklynfan and Lbirken attend more games than the rest of us, they get to bat 2nd and 3rd. I haven’t had a chance to come up with mine yet, but I’m working on it. Anyone want to bat after the clean up guy? If not, I’ll figure something out…As for the big bat…we have several that can mash with the stick, but Kahli gets the Opening Day call…or I hope he’ll get the Opening Day call…
    .
    First though, will you all please rise and remove your caps

    .
    DaBTB: Opening Day lineup

    1)Crash
    2)Oldbrooklynfan
    3)Lbirken
    4)Kahli
    5)Deefore
    6)Messagebear
    7)Tru
    8)Shad
    9)Dodger4

    Bench bats:

    A)Vl4

    Bullpen:

    1)Koufax
    2)Sparkleplenty
    3)The Beav”
    “I’ll also think about what you have up above and comment on that as well Crash.
    .
    I’ve decided since I was able to stop smoking last year, as well as slow way down on my alcohol consumption (still hang-over free). I would lose a bunch of weight this year. So, I have been preoccupied with starvation the past few days. To the tune of 15 lbs as I type.
    Bring on week 2!!
    (As well as the rest of our line-up, complete with a few PH, plus some entrance songs for the relievers.)
    .

    Sweet dreams folks! Sweet Dodger dreams…

    Like

    • Breaking News:

      I’ve just come up with our closer and his entrance song, but it’s a surprise…So, I hope we have a lead late in this game…

      Like

  17. Thank you Dodger4life for that video of Gladys Gooding singing the National Anthem . It really brought back the good old days, for me . I haven’t heard her voice for many many years. It really brings goose bumps to me. I had to play it twice to convince myself that the video recording actually does exist.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I’m getting tired already of the Dodgers trying to field an All-Cuban team.
    What happened to the All-American sport?
    Now we’re going to have Havana promotional Days and maybe even Spring Training in Cuba?

    Like

    • Maybe they get the Dodger games telecast in Cuba. They sure don’t televise them behind the Orange Curtain here in the OC. And bear, if I’m hitting 4th, you need to stay got as hell in the 6-hole so I can see decent pitches to hit.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Dodger4Life, thanks for your confidence batting me third. You should know I throw right handed and bat left handed but was never much of a hitter. I do have a good eye but am slow on the base paths. I do have a good glove and an accurate but not so powerful arm. Perhaps I could use some of your pixie dust to help overcome the analytics.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Now we need some entrance songs for our relievers…
    .
    Koufax?
    The Beav?
    Wally?
    Griz?
    Collie?
    Sparkleplenty?
    Nelly?
    NorthStateBlues?
    32and53fan?
    Zona?
    DodgerEric?
    Perdita?
    .
    Who am I missing???

    Like

  21. Thank You Dodger4Life. I heard a few minutes of the game and I’ll listen to it later on today or tomorrow when I have more time. I notice that it has to be heard straight through and there’s no fast forward or to keep it on pause. I can’t wait to hear Desmond’s voice, I haven’t heard it for more than 60 years.
    This should be fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Again my pleasure Oldbrooklynfan…
      .
      You can drag the slide-bar along manually until you hear Connie. That will shorten it up for you (Just drag and release it a little ways at a time…)

      Enjoy 🙂

      Like

  22. I’m gonna try and figure out where everyone belongs on the field…Crash is the Captain behind the plate. Birk gets to play 1B. Messagebear covers a lot of ground, so he’s our CF. Oldbrooklynfan as everyone knows is a 2B man. Everyday Tru is in RF. Kahli he’s the best hitting SS in the league. Deefore is at 3B and Shad is in LF. Dodger4life was the starter, but only went an inning and a half…He was under the impression this was the All-Star game and didn’t stretch out properly.

    Like

    • C Crash
      2B Oldbrooklynfan
      1B Lbirken
      SS Kahli
      3B Deefore
      CF Messagebear
      RF Tru
      LF Shad
      P Dodger4life
      RP Koufax
      RP Sparkleplenty
      .
      End of the 3rd inning here at the Ravine.
      Dodgers 0 – D-backs 0

      Like

      • Goofing around with the plate songs and mock Opening Day line-ups has given me an idea?
        .
        What if we make a lineup (which I’ve already done) and play a little Blog-ball…(it’ll be like playing sock-ball in the house, but on a blog and for big kids)
        .
        We can make basic rules as to move the game along, such as outs and how runs are scored…
        .
        (Perhaps have a time limit, if you are up to bat, or pitching and fail to move the game along that constitutes an out or a hit by the opposing team (we can determine who we shall play as well, Giants? D-Backs? Yankees?)
        .
        If you are not currently in the lineup and you make a comment, you take the previous players spot. (Players can re-enter the game to make this feasible)
        .
        We can carry the game from thread to thread…(That way other topics of conversation can enter the threads as well)
        .
        If you comment, you will be asked to make a play in the game (which is entirely up to you, it can be anything you can dream up)…depending on what side of the field our team is on. (Not doing so constitutes an out, or a run for the other team)
        .
        I’m making an attempt to spur some participation and fun…
        .
        What do you all think? (If you’d rather just stick with what we’ve been doing that is fine by me. I can always play the game in my own head…but if you go 0-for 65 or get robbed of a dinger by Pagan…don’t blame me.)

        Like

  23. If there’s one thing that constantly baffles me it’s any kind of assembly instructions and by the same token game instructions, so I’ll let somebody else develop things along the lines you suggest.
    Sorry! Maybe we can ask one of the many Front Office VP’s to develop a game – I’m sure some of them have nothing worth while to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We’re already down by 1 run. Plus, I’m now back in the game playing CF. AGon covers more ground than I do… The next pitch was hit between me and tru, she picked it up and used her cannon to throw out the runner at 3B. 1 out!

      Like

    • 2 outs…and since I’m in CF. The next pitch was hit between me and Shad. He called for it, but since I’m hard of hearing I couldn’t make out what he said. We collided and now I’m headed to Cedars Sinai. Shad bounced right up after making the catch, resulting in the 3rd out! In the event that I don’t pull through Shad will deliver my eulogy in the next thread.

      Like

  24. Dodger4Life, The word is FAMILIAR. I listened to the entire game from the 4th inning on. Both broadcasters were familiar to me and the many players on both teams and those mentioned around baseball, in the other 7 games that were played..My mind floated back at times to my childhood. It seemed more like today than 65 years ago. I really enjoyed it. Thanks Again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can just see it now! The manager looks towards the bullpen, puts his hand up to his forehead displaying his index and pinkie finger in the symbol of horns and say’s, bring me TheoSatin!

      Like

  25. Even though this is a Dodgers blog, us old timers remember Lawrence Phillips, running back out of Nebraska, who had a cup of coffee in the NFL but had SO MANY off-field problems with violence. Found dead today in his prison cell…suspected suicide; he was awaiting trial on murder charges for the death of cell mate. We should all be thankful for our “normal” lives.

    Like

  26. It’s amazing, you have me at 2nd base, Dodger4Life, Did I mention that was my favorite position some time ago. Although I was generally used as a corner outfielder, in my sandlot playing days. I once copied the batting stance of the late Monte Irvin. He use to sort of rock on his knees while in a crouch, while waiting for the pitch. I found it very comfortable.
    As we all know, by now Monte, the old Giant, has just passed on.
    May he RIP.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. I believe, I’m gonna get up and out of this house tonight. Since I don’t frequent the pubs much (if at all) any longer, I’m going take in a D-League basketball game. I can see the D-League Jazz, play the D-League Rockets, parking included, for under $20.00. I might need a Zamboni with GPS to get home (I can’t see well after dark), but what the hey, right?

    Like


      • .
        This was my first trip out in a long while. I decided that my truck has a heater now, I have an inhaler, so why not? I called the box office ahead of time and told them about my breathing difficulties and how I didn’t want to walk a bunch of stairs, especially after walking into the place. They told me they would call me back and they did just that. Within an hour they informed me they would be able to accommodate my wishes and they did just that, plus some. I asked where the best place was to park. They told me there was a parking garage underneath the arena which was $2.50 an hour, or at the most $12.50 a day. They said they would set up a nice comfy chair at the top of the mezzanine above the first level of seats. They told me my cost would only be $13. Wow, I said…thirteen bucks, plus another five (first hour was free) for parking. Yeah, I’ll do that. I then decided to head down a little early, so I took a small walk in one of the parks in Boise, after eating my free lunch (I had a coupon because the best sandwich place in town made a mistake on a previous days order), a pastrami on whole wheat. Then I drove to the arena which sits inside this hotel http://www.grovehotelboise.com/. One of these nights, I plan to get a room and hang around downtown afterwards. Anyhow, I found the parking garage easy enough and found a spot right next to the elevator. I was able to get out of my truck and within 40 strides, was sitting in my seat. I didn’t though as you can see from my photo above. Since I was a couple of hours early, I took another short walk and was able to find a nice seafood/sushi restaurant (which I have been wanting to try.) They have one closer to my house as well, and the place was superb, voted best in Boise). I killed two Snowboarder Porters, while killing time, plus those two Mahi Mahi Tacos. This enjoyable experience was under $20 $5 tip included. I then walked back to the arena and picked up my tickets at the will call window…the gentleman behind the Plexiglas had remembered talking to me on the phone. He then radioed upstairs, before sending me on my way. I got out of the elevator walked through the metal detector and another gentleman wearing a suit and tie, asked me if I was Bob? I said yes, we shook hands and he asked me where I would like to sit…He said I could put my chair anywhere I pleased. I chose a spot behind the home teams bench and even with that basket. After I sat down, another gentleman wearing a suit and tie comes up and asked me if I was Bob and if I was satisfied with my seat? How could I not be, I said, then told him thank you. The game was fun. They didn’t have Kobe’s skills, they fumbled the ball when the drove the lane. Their shooting wasn’t the same as it would be in the NBA. However neither was the defense, as evidenced by the score at halftime, which was 75 – 54. My hometown Idaho Stampede were leading. I left at the end of the 3rd quarter due to an incoming snow storm. Like I said earlier, my truck was only 40 strides from my seat, which was SO nice, due to the fact that I was getting tired at this point. Oh and after parking my truck earlier, I forgot to roll up the window (I locked the truck up though). I discovered this as I came back out of the arena and exited the elevator…Everything was right where I left it, when I exited 5 hours earlier…I love this city!!

        Like

        • Oh and if you notice, ball field #1 is available in case someone would like to come catch my 40 mile an hour fastball….The first photo with the barn is just around the corner from my house, the other is just as I was entering into the city of Boise at like 3 pm in the afternoon. Did I mention that I love this city??? I’m headed back soon. Boise State Gymnastics may be next on the list…plus some Steelheads hockey too. The way I was treated though, the Stampede will get a few more of dollars. Plus, even with the pastrami sandwich, the two dark porters and the two fish tacos. I somehow managed to shed another pound today 🙂

          Like

  28. I see where the Dodgers have picked up a Jordan Schafer who’s both an outfielder and a pitcher. Maybe my memory is poor but I can’t recall anyone in the majors like this before.
    I’ve heard of position players turning to pitchers and vice verser but not a player signed to do both.

    Like

    • I’m glad to read that manager Roberts and now Mota will work with Puig. This is a lot better than just leaving him alone. It shows that the team really wants him to get back on track, rather than just letting him play himself off the team.

      Like

  29. Interesting the Rams will return to LA and the coliseum. They were my pro team until they hauled for St Louis and I’ve been wondering if the return to Cal will make me want to follow them again. I first started back in the 50’s with Van Brocklin and Crazy Legs and stayed with them through the years and personnel changes. There was continuity. Now, it’s been 20 years since I’ve paid any attention to them and I wonder if I’ll still care what they do.
    *
    Another side bar is our home town (Moab, Ut.) boy was let go by the Red Sox. Arny Beyeler coached first and the outfielders and was doing a good job, Victorino won a gold glove and invited him to ceremony when he received the award. He also helped a couple of infielders successfully make the switch to the outfield, but then came our boy Hanley. By all accounts a disaster. So Arny was let go, though no one said anything about Hanley’s crappy fielding having anything to do with it. Arny will manage the AAA team for the Marlins this year. Any way you cut it, being in New Orleans has got to be better than living in Boston.

    Like

Leave a Reply

