End of an Era

don-mattingly-joe-torre-540x378DaveRoberts

Now that Dave Roberts has been officially announced as the Dodgers new manager, we can finally close out the eight year era that began with Joe Torre and ended with his hand-chosen successor, Don Mattingly.  This era featured five playoff years, including the last three straight NL West division winners.  Nonetheless, the Dodgers have been shut out of the World Series for the past 27 years.

I will never forget Juan Uribe teaching Don Mattingly when not to bunt in the 2013 NLDS against the Braves.  After Yasiel Puig doubled with no outs, Mattingly decided to take the bat out of Uribe’s hands by asking him to bunt Puig over to third base.  Uribe had a better idea.  He bunted the first two strikes foul, forcing Donnie Baseball to remove the bunt sign.  Juan Uribe then proceeded to hammer the ball to the back of the bullpen, far over the left fielder’s head to put the Dodgers ahead 4-3.  Then Kenley Jansen came in with his own hammer, striking out the side to nail down the NLDS victory.

The most embarrassing playoff scene for Mattingly (yes, I’m gonna put it on him) was allowing Daniel Murphy to steal third base after being moved from first base to second base on a walk.  Nobody covered third base, not Corey Seager, not Zack Greinke, not nobody.

I welcome the newest era of the Dodgers franchise, featuring Dave Roberts as the manager.

81 thoughts on “End of an Era

  1. Let’s all toast to end of the Yankees era in Dodgerland. When I ponder a bench coach for Roberts, I kind of hope So. Cal. native Tim Wallach might want to stick around. Would add a bit of continuity, plus, I like Wallach.

    Like

  2. halleujah! I think I prefer Roberts to Kapler, Wallach I liked, thought Roneinke was the obvious.
    Lets see what happens, he seems to be the surprise of the front office too. So I support Roberts!
    The Dodgers need a motivator, some fire, Lets bring the ring to the Ravine! lets get a picture of the new leader instead of these sad sacks posted.?

    Like

  3. I am happy with Dave Roberts as Dodger manager. The pressure to win will be heavy on his shoulders as it would no matter the choice. It seems to me management wanted someone with good baseball skills and knowledge but not necessarily someone with “history” with regard to managing. Roberts has been described as a people person and should command respect although he will have to earn it just like anyone else. Kapler is better suited for his front office job and we all know managing is now a team effort.

    Like

  4. As my first comment of this tread, I’d like to mention that I’m going to miss the coverage the Dodgers got in the New York papers while being managed by favorite sons Joe Torre and Don Mattingly. Yes, they were Joe’s and Don’s teams. They got a lot more publicity under those two than under previous managers.
    Well now they’re on their own again and will have to make their own top news.

    Like

  5. As long as we have to keep the pictures of Torre and Mattingly at the top of this topic, could someone, please do an edit so as to put a big red X across the two of them, or just a big middle finger sticking up between the two of them would suffice equally.

    Like

        • Oldbrooklynfan…I’m not trying to upset you by making jokes about the Dodgers former managers…It’s done in the spirit of fun. Heck, I’ve always kinda enjoyed the Yankees, although, Joe and Donnie frustrated me severely with their approach…I know the 81 World Series is by far my favorite one. I have a good friend from high school that is a die-hard Yankee fan and each year we bet a new cap on the best overall record. I have yet to lose…4 years running now. Anyhow, I appreciate you speaking up and I have taken the photo down…I also appreciate the fact that messagebear spoke up as well…

          Like

    • Allegedly… 🙂 These kids today. No way I would trade Puig. I’d give him a year under Dave Roberts and see what shakes. The Dodgers supposedly cleaned house on chemistry issues last winter by jettisoning Kemp and Ramirez. And what was Greinke’s take? That neither of those two were ever a clubhouse problem. Maybe it was a Donnie chemistry problem with Kemp and Ramirez. I think I’d stick with talent first and worry about other people’s feelings second. 27 years and counting……..

      Like

  6. It’s obvious guys like Puig and Jose Reyes are unhappy about something, It’s hard to say whether their trouble is at home or on the field. But at least they give us something to read about, these days.

    Like

  7. Any time now. I check here and on the Dodgers site for news, but it’s quiet right now, so I pay more attention to college football. I didn’t expect my team to get through the end of season gauntlet undefeated, but they did. Looks like they’ll make the playoffs.

    Like

  8. The Dodgers front office has reportedly discussed the potential of signing both Zack Greinke and David Price. Whether they would actually spend that much money on the 1/2/3 starting pitchers (including Kershaw) is another question.

    Like

  9. Perhaps with the Zimmerman signing, things really will start happening? But I also have been focusing more on college football lately and wondering once again why we take all of our sports passions so seriously whenever my team loses a game.

    Like

    • Which was more disappointing? The basketball team getting blown out by Kansas, or the football team getting beat by USC? For me it was losing to Kansas by 19 points.

      Like

      • I am much more disappointed by the loss to USC because it is USC and the south division title was on the line. The Bruins do not do well against SC when there is a title on the line for both teams and I expected better play from UCLA. Hopefully the basketball program will get back on track.

        Like

        • That is true… The title game is a big bummer for me now. I have family at Cal (my cousin holds the all-time passing record), so I’ve been rooting against Stanford for years. UCLA was my first love…so you see my dilemma.
          .
          And my hometown Boise State Broncos are rebuilding somewhat… Although the basketball team is better than they’ve been in the past. I’m hoping to catch a game or two this season?

          Like

          • I am an Oregon Duck fan. My family hates Stanford. My daughter goes to UCLA. The Pac-12 has imploded for me this year. In short, I will not be watching the Pac-12 Championship.

            Like

  10. With Zimmerman and Price gone, I have to believe the Dodgers are close to signing Greinke. If not, and he heads to the Gnats or elsewhere, so be it. Greinke guarantees exactly squat. 27 years and counting.

    Like

    • We’re totally screwed with him too. As much as I think this club will start playing better baseball under Roberts, I really don’t see a WS in their future in the next 2-3 seasons. I do think they’ll manage to get a #2 and maybe a #3 starter before ST via trade, though it will probably cost some of the farm. And there’s nothing saying Greinke’s balky elbow won’t need a TJ pretty soon.

      Honestly if it was me though, if they’re going to rebuild, then REBUILD. If that means trading Kersh and Jansen for a shitload of top notch prospects, then so be it. Only difference I see coming out the other end in 3 years are some big loss counts the next couple seasons, which I can deal with if we’re playing youngsters.

      Like

  11. According to Dodger talk on the radio tonight Greinke will reveal his choice by the end of this week and the only two teams he is considering are the Giants and Dodgers. The Dodgers supposedly are willing to go 5 years at David Price like money but if the Gints offer more years that is where he will go. We shall see.

    Like

  12. I can’t see why there’s all this commotion about age and length of contract. I say sign Greinke now and worry about the future when it comes.
    As far as Roberts goes, he different than Mattingly, that’s for sure.

    Like

  13. In 2013, Ward became an assistant hitting coach for the Arizona Diamondbacks. Notably, he was thrown out the game during a massive brawl between the Diamondbacks and the Dodgers on June 11, 2013

    Like

  14. It will be very interesting to see what the rest of the coaching staff looks like. I for one am happy to see that we still have Honeycutt.

    Like

  15. Unbelievable, Now I understand that it’s NOT official that Honeycutt will be back. One thing I can’t stand is a lot of changes, especially after going to the postseason 3 years in a row.

    Like

    • End of the Greinke era. Like Beav said, rebuild is under way. Go with the younger players. Old players used to stay healthy with the PEDS, they can’t do that anymore. This is a boy’s game.

      So, our rotation is ??

      1. Kershaw
      2. ??
      3. ?? is Ryu still any good??
      4. Brett Anderson – can he stay healthy and good enough to be a #4?
      5. Alex Wood

      Kinda shaky up in there.

      Like

  16. Goodbye Zach, hope you enjoy playing in front of a bunch of empty seats. Just another reminder that pro athletes basically are mercenaries and more power to them.

    Like

  17. D-Backs surprised me (maybe its their revenge for us taking their hitting coach ; ), but I didn’t want to see him on the Giants, so this doesn’t bother me in the least. I have to say, for a Ned signing, Greinke worked out the best of them all. Hell, we got two very good and one great year out of what amounted to a three year contract. Can’t say that about too many FAs ever. I don’t think the Snakes are going to be saying that after the first couple years. Not that he’ll ever duplicate this last season, but pitching half his games in AZ I’ll be very surprised if his ERA ever dips under 3.00 again for the year.

    Had to get a big clue this FO wasn’t going to up their bid to get him with what they said about having potential deals in the works, and that splashy FAs don’t equate to titles. Couldn’t see them paying 2 pitchers over $60M a year. In fact, it won’t surprise me to see them trade Kersh prior to his opt out in a couple years (though I’d like to see him be able to go after the all-time Dodger records.) It is a business though, and everyone plays with big boy money, so the game’s become what its become.

    Be that as it may, they’ve still got some paring of Ned’s dead weight to go, namely Crawford, AGon and Ethier. And to be honest, one of their own in McCarthy. Next week will be interesting and come the end of the meetings I think we’ll see a much different team than we do this evening.

    Like

  18. Who do you think gets traded for pitching – Joc or Puig? I’m starting to get the impression this FO wants the ball to be put in play more and quite frankly, that ain’t Joc. I like the kid, but I hate seeing 175 useless outs a year (unless you’re 2011 Kemp. And Joc is no Kemp.)

    Like

  19. Mercenary is the appropriate term. There were good reasons for resigning him and just as good ones letting him go on his way. Too bad he’s still in the division, but we should see some excellent pitchers duels this season. My money is on Kershaw and the Dodgers.

    Like

  20. I always have the same take: if you don’t want to be a Dodger, then bye, bye. I’ll shed no tears over this one. Kevin Brown, jason Schmidt, Zack Greinke, All high-priced FA starters who brought zero titles to L.A. Dave Roberts will field a fiery, aggressive team. Hats off to FO for not buying into the sparkling bauble known as Greinke. Like lbirk said, mercenaries all. I only wish I could find that kind of a market for a 62-year-old art teacher.

    Like

  21. Well I obviously think differently from my Blog Brothers and sisters here, I am shocked that the Dodgers FO got out bid by the D backs. I now have shine a light down that FO tunnel to try and understand why for a about 3.5 M a year we lost a damn good pitcher, putting Zack in the same bag as Schmidt or Brown is an insult, Greinke produced and he led. Why wasn’t the old OPT out in 3 years put in place in a new contract, yes overpay for awhile to keep the stability of the rotation. Money shouldn’t of been the reason Zack goes to the D backs. If it is something else I can understand that. To me, Zack spent 3 years with the dodgers and they never took him to the WS, He played well. I will miss his Pitching, fielding and hitting prowness. I guess Zack wanted Puig out of town before he would sign? This is the biggest mistake the FaZ in the FO has made. Really if $$$ was the draw, the Dodgers got beat on their home turf, and we all knew Grienke liked going to the highest paying bidder. any of the other pitchers out there aren’t as good, and now if a Cueto or the ilk is considered, Dodgers will be in desperation mode to sign, and overpay for something not close to what they had in Grienke. Now Surprise me FaZ, with your Sabremetrics, and put the Dodgers in position to win, even with an even year coming that has favored the Gnats, because the starting pitching has just gone down hill considerably .

    Like

  22. I can’t believe the Dodgers let Greinke get away. I really thought they’d give him anything he wanted on a silver platter. He was going to opt out after 3 years anyway.
    THIS SUCKS.

    Like

  23. Very true, THIS SUCKS, but as we’ve all figured out, this is the nature of today’s game. Also true at least he didn’t go to the giants and our stellar FO will just have to go out and get us a couple more arms. I’m blase about the whole thing right now, but it will be interesting to see who have and don’t have to open spring training.

    Like

    • I never saw before such a write up of the Dodgers coming to town on May 27, in my daily newspaper.. They’re saying it’s a another good chance to boo “Dirty” Utley which the Mets fans are anxious to do.

      Like

  24. As it stands now…I’m guessing the Dodgers to be winners of 80 ball games. Between now and Opening Day will they become worthy of my 100 games in the win column statement??? There is definitely room to improve.

    Like

  25. I really don’t have high expectations for the coming year, nor probably for several years to come. I think that the ownership blew their budget in the past two years expecting that it would take them to the World Series, but the $300 million payroll is something that they never expected to maintain on a regular basis. Seeing that putting out that kind of money wasn’t guaranteed to produce the ultimate result, we can now expect a level of moderation that brings us an Iwakuma instead of keeping a Greinke. I expect the same thing will happen when Kersh has a chance to opt out, unless they anticipate that and actually trade him beforehand. From a business standpoint, which is all that really matters to the Guggenholes, as long as the season tickets get sold and the stadium is filled on a regular basis, what’s to worry about? Don’t expect them to be too excited about not getting broader TV coverage either.

    I don’t expect to change allegiance in whatever number of years I have remaining as a fan, but I can certainly tell you that I’m nowhere near as passionate about the Dodgers, their chances, or the outcome as I once was in what I consider the good old years. Maybe it’s the way the business of the game has changed, or the fact that business considerations will overcome what used to be loyalty and some permanence of keeping the same people on the field year to year. I understand it’s a money game now, for the players as for the owners, and it’s the fans who bear the brunt of that. Adjust to it or not, that’s the nature of the game now. I have no hard feeling for a Greinke – he was a Dodger in name only as long as that’s who paid him the best at the time. At least he produced – something that won’t necessarily happen on a regular basis of employing mercenaries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

