It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Want To Rock & Roll)!

The Dodgers have narrowed their manager search to a distinct few.

We’ve heard that the prominently schooled wizards that turn the front office wheel these days have come to an agreement that Bud Black, Dave Roberts, Darin Erstad and Gabe Kapler have displayed enough in their first meeting at the greatest factory on earth, to be worthy of more discussion about how to sound the alarm that there will be a 7th Commissioners Trophy displayed at the Ravine. After being considered for further discussion, Erstad announced that he was indeed staying with his current employer. The University of Nebraska, where Erstad manages the Husker baseball team.

Stay tuned for further development.

Qualifying Offers have been handed out and returned.

Zack Greinke, Howie Kendrick and Brett Anderson (as we’ve all heard) were all tendered qualifying offers last week by the Dodgers front office. With only Brett Anderson accepting the offer.

Anderson will return to L.A.’s famed hill for 2016, where he will attempt to successfully earn his $15.8 million check. He was a valued arm for the squad in 2015, so way to go Brett.

Zack and Howie now have the right to seek employment wherever they find the right match. Both were front-line starters for the Dodgers in 2015.

Greinke was not only a co-ace upon the hill, but was nearly mythical with his long sandy blond hair and golden arm. It’ll be difficult to replicate the same return from whom-ever slides into his aforementioned slot. Even if the Dodgers pony up to the bar and provide Zack with some new libations and around another $150 million (give or take). Although, one would have to think Greinke would be a good fit again.  It’s an if the wheel ain’t broke (on so many different levels here) kinda thing if you ask me.

Howie displayed a solid glove and bat, as he was a strong force in the 3-4-5 spot of the line-up, as well as a steady stop gap up the middle in teaming with both Rollins and the much younger Seager. He himself will require some Cristal from the aforementioned bar if he is to be woo-ed back into Dodger blue for 2016. Howie may ask for and receive around a 5 year, $50 million contract. This seems a little pricey, considering the Dodgers have other available options and are displaying a willingness to become a younger team.

The Dodgers will get compensation in the way of a supplemental pick (between the first and second rounds) if either fail to return to the ball club in 2016.

Free Agency is alive and , well…

Always open for discussion….

63 thoughts on “It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Want To Rock & Roll)!

  1. I was hoping for Kendrick to accept his QO, if only to maintain some experience on the team, since it’s claiming to get younger. I think we should keep some old with this young crop.
    I hope Anderson doesn’t make the Dodgers less aggressive in trying to keep Greinke. Without Greinke the Dodgers will have a tougher time getting back to the postseason, IMO.
    As far as the manager is concerned my favorite of the bunch is still Dave Roberts but I wouldn’t mine them giving another shot to Bud Black.
    But whoever it is I hope it becomes a good choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. From ESPN.com:

    “What to do about Puig? The question really boils down to one thing: How big a problem does Friedman and his group think Puig is for the kind of culture they’re trying to create? By the end of Mattingly’s tenure, his relationship with Puig had deteriorated badly. The two didn’t speak and Puig was openly dismissive.”

    Mattingly…….sheesh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Personally, I don’t think Puig will be a Dodger for very long, (I think he’ll be gone by next September, if not sooner). He’s been afforded ample opportunities to get his act together. He showed up to Camelback last season (I believe) out of shape and joking about it. Then dealt with the hamstring issues most of the year. Not to mention his disrespect for Florida’s traffic laws, Zack Greinke , Mattingly and Lord knows who and what else. He’s a problem child, plain and simple…and hasn’t bestowed the desire to do what’s necessary to become a player who is revered long after his playing days are over. Sorry Kahli, these are just my feelings on the subject.

      (I will say he has enormous talent)

      Like

      • I see Puig like a teenage rebel without a cause–a goofy, talented knucklehead. God forbid someone, beside Uribe and Ramirez, take this kid under his wing. Now doubt in my mind he’ll have a great year under a new manager.

        Like

        • I hope you turn out to be right, kahli. If Puig can turn it around, even I’m ready to forgive a belated teenage asshole, having been one myself, of course, a long long time ago.

          Like

  3. I was thinking the only big problem with Puig was his weight. It seemed that was the only thing that Zaidi was concerned with. Right now I think we’re all waiting to see who the next manager will be and where will Greinke end up. I hope it’s with us.

    Like

  4. In a perfect world Roberts will be picked and turn out to be awesome, Puig, Grandal, Pederson will be over their slumps and be super productive, Greinke will resign and repeat this year’s numbers, Ryu will regain his old form, McCarthey (or whoever that was) will be reliable and everyone else will be about the same. That’s what I’m waiting for, meanwhile BOOMER SOONER!!!!!

    Like

  5. No disrespect for any of the finalists, nor those of you who have a particular favorite, but what is all this enchantment about Roberts about? I know he was a Dodger, and back then we rooted for him. He was not particularly notable, and certainly not what I would call great. Those, of course, are not absolute requirements for managerial success. If Roberts had such unique qualifications and spent so much time in the Padres system, how is it that they let him slip away? To me he is an unproven and probably the least qualified of the three finalists. I’d honestly like to hear what some of you find so compelling about Roberts.

    Like

    • Before I can comment on Roberts, I’m gonna need to hear what his thought’s are on sunning a sack…

      Seriously though, I’ve said before that I don’t really know enough about any of the candidates to form what I would call a valued opinion… Bud Black has the most experience and has manager of the year credentials to stand behind, but so do Dusty Baker (3), Kirk Gibson and Matt Williams. Not to mention since 2010 Bud has won exactly nothing. Sure he was in San Diego, where they haven’t raised a banner of any sort since 2006 (NLWDC). Keep in mind though, he may be asked to achieve great things in L.A. with a much younger squad than we’ve seen in the past? Roberts worked under Bud and was passed over by the Padres for Green. So that’s that. Was this a mistake on San Diego’s part…like I said I don’t know? Kapler is equally unknown for the most part. I think I read that he managed the Israeli baseball team at one point and had a stint coaching in the Red Sox organization, where I think it said his results weren’t all that great. Kapler did say this was a great learning experience…which brings me back to his stunning revelation about sunning a sack…

      Like

  6. Nothing on paper makes me like him as a manager over the other two, as you say the others are probably more qualified, but I’m hoping he’ll provide a fresh start, a breath of fresh air, so to speak. I think he understands the running game and be willing to do the things necessary to get players into scoring position. Other than that, he was a favorite Dodger of mine, I saw him hit a grand slam in AZ, not exactly the greatest reason to hire him, I know, but as long as we’re turning it over and starting new, I favor Roberts. That said they’ll hire Kapler.

    Like

  7. It doesn’t matter to me who wins the job, I think I’m thinking of the Dodgers as pioneers when it comes to opening doors to African Americans as they are noted for Jackie Robinson.
    I know this is not a good reason to hire Roberts but it would be a nice way to fined out what kind of a job he’d do. That’ll be the only reason I’d favor him over Black.
    I think it would be better to keep Kapler right where he is, but of course I don’t have any say in it.

    Like

  8. Puig is in control of his destiny with the Dodgers. If productive and not disruptive, then his path will be like Dre, if NOT, then his path will be that of Milton Bradley. The Dodgers like Puig’s potential.
    I doubt Kendrick will be back, it seems the Dodgers would rather spend $$$ on Pitching and allow a younger, cheaper player start at second.
    With Anderson back, I hope he projects to be the #5, Yes I want Zack Back, but he is such a poker face I do not know if he, or his growing family, really like it in LA.?; and if past history is any indicator the team that puts the most $ down is where Zack goes. and his $ value is really high now.

    Like

    • I’d also like to see Zack back and I agree, I also hope he puts the money first before where he likes or dislikes to pitch. I also was wondering why he keeps putting on that poker face. I’m hoping it hasn’t got anything to do with “Dodger Money”.

      Like

  9. I’m beginning to have the same feelings about Greinke as I did with J.D. Drew, namely, if you want to opt out of your contract, fine. Good luck wherever your future endeavors take you. Since 1988, the Dodgers have tried every formula to get back on top: pricey free agents, “blockbuster” trades, small trades, stupid trades, dumpster diving, playing the kids, playing the PVLs, big-name managers, obscure managers, rookie managers, this GM, that GM, this owner, that owner. We all know the results. As I’ve said here before, the regular season is the time most spent with these characters…the journey, not the destination. I’d like to see an exciting team, one that runs, takes the extra base, squeezes. If they win a championship…whatever, my life changes not at all. But the number one priority that I see, as a long-time Dodger fan, is Vin Scully. They drop the ball on that–again, and for Vinny’s final season–then I say f**k them all…Magic, Kasten, all the Guggs and their riches.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lots of interesting comments, as usual. First, let me address Puig. It seems at the moment management still looks at him in a positive way, but then again if I were part of management I would look for anything to spin positively. The one thing I can tell you is Puig’s Facebook postings have been far and few between this offseason as opposed to last. Perhaps that is a conscious thing, perhaps not. He may be the one player that could be affected by whomever is selected as manager.

    That brings me to the managerial search. It seems the Dodgers are being careful about this selection. According to all reports, a number of candidates have been interviewed but I suspect some of those interviews were more formality than substance. We have been told that the owners have so far not been involved with the choice but clearly Friedman has some qualities he wants and perhaps has been using the interview process to gain insight into how different baseball people look at the game. I also find it interesting that Wallach and Roenicke are not among the names we have heard who are coming back for a further round of interviews, implying they are not among the finalists. However, I heard a caller to a sports talk show give an interesting spin on this with his suggestion the Dodgers are already quite familiar with these two and there is no need for further interviews. We will see.

    I find the question of why people find Dave Roberts so interesting. First, let us put aside the fact he is black and hope that is not the reason he might be pushed for the job. And let us hope he is not being considered just for that reason to appease those who want to see more blacks hired as managers. I would hope he is being considered because he brings a fresh approach and the fact he was not a “great” player but one who understood what it takes to play the game. Can he lead? None of us know the answer but I still find him an intriguing candidate.

    As for Bud Black, he certainly is qualified for the job and the fact he did not win in San Diego should not be the only mark against him. Would he be just another retread? Can he manage a pitching staff? I think he can. So I would be ok with him as well.

    I like Kapler but do not think he is the best choice for the job. The usual thing I hear against him is how close he is to the front office. Would he be a puppet? At times I think that is what management wants. Does he have enough experience to make him a better choice than Roberts? Or vice versa?

    So Kahli makes a great point in his comments summarizing the past 27 years. From the early 1950’s to the mid 1970’s, the Dodgers had one owner and two managers. Since then we have had numerous ownership and managerial changes and the lack of continuity is one of the reasons I believe the franchise has lost much of its luster. However, I continue to believe that someday we will get back this luster. It is the curse of being a loyal fan of any team or organization.

    Like

    • “Continuity” is the word I take from your comment Ibirken. That is the word I fine, as you have, that is missing the last 20 or thirty some odd years and I believe, as you do, the lack of it has truly hurt this team.

      Like

    • I think if they can find close enough similarities between Roberts and Kapler. Roberts will win the job. I think this the reason they didn’t just hand it to Kapler to begin with.

      Like

      • Kapler has a lot of work to do, in order to get me aboard his ship willingly. I’m probably leaning towards Roberts anyways at this point.

        Like

  11. If the Dodgers do hire Kapler…OBF will have to quit saying, the ol’ butter and eggs man comes through in the clutch… maybe he can learn to say, the olive oil and oven baked okra guy instead?

    Like

  12. Joe Maddon has been named as Manager of the Year. What would the 2015 Dodgers have been like if Friedman had fired Mattingly and replaced him with Maddon prior to the 2015 season? The same? Different?

    Like

    • Heisey would have won a Silver Slugger and a Gold Glove because Mattingly was keeping him from becoming all he could be. Not to mention we’d be discussing Heisey’s new multi-year contract right now?

      Like

    • Says a lot about what people think of Donnie’s performance with a $300M payroll – one 3rd place vote and tied for 5th with a guy whose team didn’t even make the playoffs. Good riddance. Glad he didn’t let the screen door hit him in the ass on his way out.

      Like

  13. If you were thinking Roenicke as bench coach…
    .
    Eric Stephen ‏@truebluela 1m1 minute ago
    Ron Roenicke hired as Angels 3B coach. Was on Mike Scioscia’s coaching staff from 2000-2010

    Like

  14. Still wondering if the Dodgers want a traditional manager; that is someone who can think for himself while still using information passed down by the front office or someone who is perhaps a caretaker who whose best skill is not messing up with what the front office wants on a day to day basis.

    Like

  15. So sabremetrics is the game plan, well then make it work. Funnel the data to the Manager and execute, so why be so picky about a conduit manager, but I think Walt Alston did use what intelligence he had to deliver the win. Lasorda used his gut and brains to accomplish his wins. That was consistency, with Omalley being so shrewd, he offered up one year contracts to his manager, what a novel idea to instill productivity. What I want is a “Can do it” manager, that might require experience, flexibility, patience and success. None of which is proven with the remaining two candidates. But maybe the FAZ knows something, and see it in one of these two: Roberts or Kapler
    it feels like the FO is teaching how to play the game a new way and the people in the dug out are trying to figure it out, and thats what I have a problem with, beside Zack Gienke not winning the CY Young….GEEZ

    Like

  16. Definitely looks as though Friedman and Co. called the shots…and will continue to call the shots. That’s why they never had a problem with Donnie, and why Donnie probably said “thanks, no thanks,” after a year of that BS. Getting harder and harder to be a sports fan. I know, I know, I’m from the Baby Boomer generation and have lost touch, but at least I grew up in an era when pitchers and catchers called the pitches, managers managed…and QBs called their own plays. Pro sports has become a video game.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Maybe, if Greinke would’ve won the Cy Young, the Dodgers would think twice, before taking the risk, of letting the Cy Young winner go, by not signing him..

    Like

  18. I just checked my Facebook page and the consensus seems to be that Gabe Kapler will become the next manager of your Los Angeles Dodgers.

    Bill Shaikin seems to believe this news is a bit premature

    Shaikin ‏@BillShaikin
    Heard #Dodgers managerial decision still could be a few days away.

    Like

  19. Kahli, I get the sense a lot of people long for what is perceived as the “good old days” because our rear view mirrors see so little of what is out there. I sometimes do it myself when I attend a Dodger baseball game or UCLA football game and think back to when the games flowed so much better and took so much less time. That was before all the big TV money took control of the games and pretty much left the ticket buying fan a second class citizen. But all sports have changed both on and off the field. Certainly using information from scouts is nothing new, nor is using video or computers. The pressure to win will forever push all involved to try to find an edge. Is that progress or is it the way things have always been?

    Like

  20. This makes me wonder what really is going on. We’ve heard club house rumblings in the past and I don’t think anyone on here has been satisfied with Puig’s approach. The guy really does seem to be squandering his talent, I mean what would you do to have half his ability? So this makes me wonder if this isn’t some sort of back door effort to get him off the team.

    Like

  21. According to Andy Van Slyke things are not to pleasant in the Dodger clubhouse in regards to Puig. SVS must’ve been talking to his dad and Daddy probably had trouble keeping it to himself.
    It will be interesting to see what happens with Scott and Puig this offseason.

    Like

  22. I am not upset if in fact Kershaw or anyone else went to management and voiced his opinion on Puig. I am upset that someone leaked it as none of us really needed to know. Andy Van Slyke put his own son and Kershaw in a bad position by opening his mouth whether the story is true or not. As much as I do not like it when writers or talking heads resort to “unnamed sources”, I can understand why it might be better that way.

    Like

  23. Roberts [I think] will a least know the importance of having a running game and be able to manufacture runs. Now they need a hitting coach with a manufacturing runs philosophy. OBP does you no good when you don’t know what to do when they’re out there except swing for the fence.

    Like

  24. Too bad Lopes got away. I think they would have worked well together. I’m hoping Wills will have more of a presence in the spring. The present roster does not go with Maury’s style of ball to a great extent, but I think, all told, we can expect more of a runnung game and some small ball this year.

    Like

  25. Be interesting to see who Roberts picks for his coaching staff…or will it be Friedman who picks it?!?!?!?!?!?! Regardless, I think Roberts will be a great manager. I like managers who never reached the tip top as a player. He had to fight and claw, unlike the anointed one, Donnie, who succeeded as an All-Star player, but never really could walk in the shoes of a marginal player or a player who lost playing time…in my humble opinion. Ethier’s probably doing handstands…if he’s not traded, that is.

    Like

  26. I’m satisfied with the Roberts selection. At least here’s a guy who scrapped and clawed his way to the top, not only to the manager’s position but in the Dodgers’ lineup to begin with many years ago. That’s a quality that would be worth imparting to many of these privileged and overpaid players on the field. It may work and it may not, depending on how much the Guggenheims want to “normalize” their yearly payroll. My thinking is that if we don’t at least make it to the World Series in ’16, Friedman, Zaidi and at least a dozen of their highly touted top advisory executives ought to be out on their ass and applying their saber-statistics somewhere in the private equity market instead. My ultimate hope is that the Guggenheims might give up on the idea of owning a baseball franchise and turn it back to some enterprise that values the fan baseball experience akin to the better old days before McCourt and the Fox people. I’m sure my years are beyond seeing that happen in my lifetime, but stranger things have happened.

    Like

  27. Roberts was my favorite candidate since he came on the scene. A former Dodger and I’ve always wanted the Dodgers to have an African American manager, ever since Robinson said words to that effect in 1975, although it didn’t matter which team hired one first
    I don’t know if it makes the chances of getting to the World Series any better, than it did with Mattingly. but it’s certainly a nice jester.
    Good Luck to the Dodgers and Robers.
    Now what we need is Greinke.

    Like

  28. I heard on the radio this morning that the official announcement from the Dodgers about Roberts may not come until after Thanksgiving. Huh? As D4 so aptly put it…

    “It’s a long way to the top”

    Like

    • Okay, either the radio or I got it wrong. It’s official now, but the press conference is after T-Giving.

      Congratulations to Dave Roberts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

