Next on the Dodgers agenda…Qualifying offers to be extended.

20151013_013102_damntz265_300

Decision Time: Barring a trade, a staff hiring or any other unusual event (MLB frowns on these things during the WS). Extending qualifying offers to players should be next on the list, coming within the first 4 days following the end of the WS. Here are the guidelines explaining such moves.

http://www.mlbtraderumors.com/2015/10/explaining-the-qualifying-offer-system.html

Speculation has it that 3 players with the 2014 Dodgers will have the opportunity to choose their path to free agency or remain with the ball-club under a one year $15.8 million contract (Zack Grienke – Howie Kendrick and Brett Anderson). In the 3 years that this system has been implemented not one player has accepted the offer extended by their former club and all have chosen to go the free agent route. Greinke is a given and will most likely reject the offer, same probably goes for Kendrick. Brett Anderson on the other hand stands a good chance (in my opinion, as well as from others) to become the first MLB player to accept a clubs qualifying offer. Factoring in his history of injuries and the rather high monetary price, plus a draft pick, he may have a difficult time finding a lucrative offer without waiting beyond the June amateur draft.

I’m guessing he becomes the first player in MLB history to accept the offer? What do you think?)

Other MLB players who may receive a qualifying offer from their 2014 ball-club. http://www.mlbdailydish.com/2015/10/18/9563977/impending-free-agents-qualifying-offers-offseason-moves

(Anyone here on your radar?)

Other speculative news: It has been reported that the Dodgers are negotiating with long-time pitching coach Rick Honeycutt. It has also been reported that Mattingly would like to see Honeycutt and Wallach follow him to Florida.

I’m fine with keeping Honeycutt. I think he does a solid job when afforded the chance. What are your thoughts here as well?)

More on the speculative news front: There have been several recent reports that former Angel and current Nebraska Cornhusker manager, Darin Erstad, will be interviewed by the Dodgers front office for what I would assume is the opening managers spot. I’ve done a small amount of reading on this subject and have seen pros and cons mentioned for hiring Erstad. I have also seen a speculative report from someone supposedly inside his circle of friends, saying that he would have to be bowled over by an offer to accept?

(This is definitely coming from outside of the box, as I doubt anyone seen this coming? I liked his style of play with the Halos. I’m skeptical as to how well he would fit in? I could probably say that about every potential hire with this front office though. Again! Your thoughts here?)

No speculation needed: The WS has moved to Citi Field for games 3-4-5 and the Mets have closed the gap a tad by taking game 3. This blogs seemingly favored Royals still hold a slight edge with a 2 wins to 1 win advantage.

Update: Royals 3 – Mets 1

(Game 5 coming up)

90 thoughts on “Next on the Dodgers agenda…Qualifying offers to be extended.

  1. I would like Honeycutt to go with Donnie. We can do better….look at all the pitchers who have left us and done a pretty good job elsewhere (Volquez ring a bell?!) Time for new blood…..not sure about Erstad though.

    Like

    • To be somewhat fair…you could probably mention a few that Honeycutt resurrected for a time being or was instrumental in nurturing along…Volquez used his opportunity with the Dodgers as his springboard…

      Like

      • I’m gonna guess because he has a reputation of being a good pitching coach and they’re hard to replace? Factor that with the two major arms of Kershaw and Kenley being familiar and comfortable with him?

        Like

  2. What does it say to Donnie that Bunnynutts would rather stay with the team than follow him to FL? Donnie, like his predecessor, broke a lot of pitchers. Could be Hunny doesn’t want that happening anymore. Any why would Wallach want to follow him and play second fiddle again? Unless he absolutely couldn’t get another gig I can’t see it happening. Maybe too they both know Donnie isn’t worth a shit as a manager.

    I’d like to see McGwire follow him though, just to see how badly he could fuck up Dee and Stanton.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m pretty sure Conforto just became the first guy from my high school to hit a home-run in the World Series!!

    Way to go kid!

    Niedenfuer has a ring though and it’s from the greatest World Series ever played!

    #redmondhighmustangsbaseball

    Like

  4. I’ve been for K.C. all the way and was rooting for them since a year ago in the World Series. It’s good to see a real team winning, regardless of the dollars they have to spend on payroll. I think they are basically solid on the field and keep the same guys playing regardless of who’s pitching – what a novel idea. They really don’t have an enviable starting pitching rotation, but they seem to carry a competitive game to the bullpen stage, and there they excel. I’m obviously not one to stand with the National League once the Dodgers are out of it. Why would I? You spend the whole season rooting against all the other teams in the league, so I hope the slimy worthless Mets take it up the you know what. Of course, I’d take one or two of their starting pitchers, but the rest of the bastards – screw them all.

    As for the list of prime guys to be free agents, screw them all too. I’d rather advance or get some new blood with fire in the belly that have the incentive to play their hearts out, even if it takes us a couple of years to mold a team together that plays more like someone such as K.C.

    As for Honeycutt, I don’t care if he stays or goes. The fact that the front office is already negotiating with him only shows me that the next manager will be “agreeable” with Friedman and Zaidi rather than having the opportunity you’d expect with a clean slate. And I think that both SUCK and are highly overrated, so don’t expect miracles from their choice of manager.

    Like

    • Morning Mr. Bear…

      I always enjoy what you have to say and I’d have to agree with you on your sentiments towards the Royals. I can’t blame a person who roots for a small market team that took years to mold into a contender that may soon become a champion, especially after they fought the dark side last year and came up just a bit short. I think it’s highly commendable that they have returned to the grand stage, just a year later.

      As far as your return question of why would you root for the National League? I think most people this day and age think the same way you do. At least the 150 or so Dodger fans that inhabit my Facebook page do…I have yet to find one that doesn’t automatically trash talk the team that bested the boys. And I say to each his own, as long as it’s done in a civil manner. I myself have usually wished the team from the N.L. the very best. It was something my father did and I looked up to the man, so I’ve chosen to followed suit. He had his flaws as well though…he could somehow root for both USC and UCLA…I had to draw the line with that one…I remember getting a cardinal and gold football jersey one year from a distant relative that had come to visit. I wore it one time to be polite and that was it (I rarely do anything because it was the popular choice.) I’m rather good at making my own mistakes, I don’t need someones else’s help. I also admire this trait in others even if we don’t always agree.

      I believe you are correct on the free agents as well (although, I think we need pitching and this seems to be the popular avenue of acquiring them)…I posted the link mainly for a conversation piece. Thanks for your input!

      As far as the Guggs go… to me they’re just business men trying to manipulate a following so they can generate more dollars for their bank account. (I’m sure winning is important as well, I just don’t believe that given the choice of getting a pat on the back from the Billionaires Boys Club for winning a championship, is as important as getting a pat on the back for generating more dollars.)

      Zaidi and Friedman on the other hand are mere millionaires and they will only get a pat on the back if they win something. Whether or not they can and will…well, I’d be a liar if I said I wasn’t curious as to how they plan to fulfill the long awaited dream? I do agree that they will be very controlling in the way the team is managed day in and day out!

      Like

  5. The only coach I would have serious doubts about keeping would be McGuire. His success in St Louis didn’t follow him here. Joc’s second half slump pretty much sums it up for me.

    Like

    • It sounds like Honeybuns/Bunnynutts/Honeycutt has already agreed to stay on???

      I like you Zona, and I wouldn’t be a good teammate if I let you run around unhappy. So I’m gonna try and cheer you up :0).

      Like

  6. It looks like the Mets will ethier be the National League Champions or the World Champions when I go back to Citi Field. Either way it will be the house of champions whether I like it or not. I’m rooting for Honeycutt to stay, if simply to keep “continuity” with the team, especially since we’ll have a new manager. This beside the fact that I think he’s doing a good job.

    Like

  7. Just once I would like to see our boys play with the drive and desire of KC. They don’t like to lose and they don’t ever give up. I’ve seen Mattingly coached teams roll over so many times in the 8th and 9th I can’t count them.

    Like

    • You may be right…they have him listed under staff instead of coaches now. They gave him the title of outfield coordinator. I distinctly remember them saying he was still in uniform in the dugout though. I was under the impression that the assistant hitting coach was removed from the dugout to make room for Roenicke.

      Like

  8. I haven’t watched much of the postseason after the Dodgers were eliminated but I did see the last 4 innings of last night’s game and tonight and wonder how folks feel about how Collins is managing. He goes “outside the box” last with Familia by bringing him in the 8th innnig and that does not go well. Tonight he lets Harvey talk him out of not letting Harvey pitch the ninth and then leaves Harvey in after the walk. Familia comes in and the Royals tie the score on risky but gutsy base running. Sometimes the manager just can’t win.

    Like

  9. Happy for the Royals; they play an exciting style of baseball. Enjoyed the Mets, too. Two great clubs. After seeing this World Series, I realize the Dodgers team that ended the year is a far cry from a team that has what it takes to win a championship. Hopefully, a new direction and revamped roster will lead to a hungry, aggressive team. We can only hope. And as per usual, fix the TV deal.

    Like

  10. OK then. If he has any time left on his contract, he should be able to handle that. I’d make him do something. The Dodgers are already spending way to much on people that are somewhere else.
    *
    Congrats to the Royals. After watching them throughout the playoffs and series, it seems like our guys are light years behind KC. What will the Spring bring us?

    Like

  11. I have to say that the Royals have one of the greatest teams since some the the Yankees had during the 20th Century. We have to give credit to the NL Champs Mets for putting up a fight against them. I doubt very much if any team could have beaten these Kansas City Royals.

    Like

    • I think the Mets proved to be a very worthy opponent, and with their young pitching there’s a bright future ahead. At the beginning of the season I would not have expected much from them, but they should be a force to contend with in the NL. So, congratulations to all who follow them as well. All the best to you as well, OBF until we start another season. There will no doubt be much to talk about between now and then.

      Like

  12. I agree the Mets should be a force in the Nat’l League in the coming years with their nucleus of starting pitchers. They’ll probably have their share of injuries and they are going to lose a couple of everyday players to free agency but they will be a team to watch out for.

    Like

  13. Wow, the royals are the real deal, of course I knew that> They had their division wrapped up and snug like a Joc strap on testicles. The Dodgers would not of stood a chance. So what do the Royals possess that I admired so much, that I want the Dodgers to have. 1. A bullpen that is lights out. 2. Tenacity and perseverance. 3. A tight defense. 4. the ability and freedom to be aggressive. 5. A hitting attitude, that is within the pitch and within the situation. Just watch them at Bat,they make the pitcher work, they make the defense work. Not afraid to bunt. and when they get on base, they love to disrupt and run smartly.

    Regarding the subject of who do I want back: Greinke. all the rest of the potential free agents can GO, Hey I liked Kendrick and Anderson, but could the Dodgers do better? Back of my mind Im thinking what if we kept Dee Gordon?
    Entire Coaching staff can GO. The only one I might give a pass to is Wallach, and that is if he would consider being Manager. Maguire failed. Regarding Honeycutt, Did he really develop pitchers? I think Kershaw was a Natural, yes he listened, followed and obeyed advice and training given to him, any 20 year old would. But did that come from Loew, Penny, Maddux, Koufax also. Was it the rest for Hatcher that made reliable in September or something Honeycutt imparted to him?When I look at the amount of Pitchers Honeycutt had influence on, and then the development that took place; the Dodgers could find better. Then again during mcBankrupt era what kind of good pitching could of been had. Still Los Angeles should not be a quarter for overpriced mediocre performance.
    Geez was the ninth inning , a flashback to Pedro and Grady little having a “going to take you out chat”; and that was all the Royals needed, leave the screen door unlocked and their tear down the side of the house.

    Like

  14. I saw an article naming candidates for the new manger and Dave Roberts (one of my traded away favorites) was among them to my surprise. I checked the Padres site to be sure it was the same fellow sent off to Boston by DePodesta and sure enough, it’s our former center fielder. Base stealing was one of Roberts strengths, as he showed in the ’04 ALCS, so I was surprised he was being considered. DePodesta came right out and said base stealing wasn’t much of an asset, but I don’t recall the current front office ever saying anything like that, so I guess it’s possible they hire Roberts, keep Lopes, listen to Maury Wills a little bit more and give the running game some life. Possible, but not likely.

    Like

  15. Vegas has made the Dodgers the favorite to win the 2016 World Series at 8-1. Are you kidding me???? Based on what? Maybe it’s addition by subtraction–no Mattingly. Equally shocked that Wallach would follow Mattingly to Miami should he not land the LA managerial job. Why would he want to caddy for him again? And then there’s Donnie, signing a 4-year contract, and immediately saying he plans on being there for the next 10 years. But enough of this conjecture and bellyaching. Bring on the trades!!!

    Like

  16. I would like to see Greinke come back but not sure this management group will agree to a long term deal. Perhaps a shorter deal, say 3-4 years might be in order and pay a bit higher price to get it but not if there are any opt out clauses. Speaking of opt out clauses, what is the purpose of a long term deal if the player can opt out after a few years? I understand if the player does well he opts out so he can get a better deal and if the player does not do well, he opts in for a guaranteed payment.

    I still do not know how any of us can know how effective a coach is with regards to individual players and how they develop. Coaches fired by one team seem to catch on somewhere else. The Dodgers have had hitting coach after hitting coach over the past 10 years but nothing seems to change. As for the pitching coach, I agree with those of you who feel the next manager might want his own guy there but then again, the next manager may have to agree to doing whatever the front office wants in order to get the job. I have heard all the same names and I have no idea who among them would be best for the job. I would not be upset if Wallach or Roenicke did get the job but I might be surprised if Kapler or Erstad got the job, or if someone else who had no big league experience got the job. I read an article in the Times today that quoted Frank Thomas as saying he felt Kapler would be better suited for a GM/front office job, and did not buy into the idea that being a great player meant anything about determining who might be a good manager.

    All I know is management will most likely do things that both surprise us and make us wonder what the heck it is thinking with regards to off season moves.

    Like

    • Sometimes Birk I think its just a different voice and demeanor. Whatever Donnie’s was, and Torre’s before his, just didn’t resonate with enough of the players to get them to the next level. No guarantee a new voice is going to be heard either, but banging their collective heads against the wall years on end wasn’t working.

      Whatever McGwire’s preaching isn’t working either as a team collective. He might’ve helped a handful of guys over the years, but as a team they’re downright putrid with men on base. That’s got to change too. Don’t know if the next guy will be right for the job, but Big Mac sure isn’t.

      If you look at Honeycutt’s tenure in L.A., his staffs are #1 in a lot of categories during that span. Not a big fan of his, but I can see why the FO would want to retain him.

      I still think Bear’s right in that the team attitude and atmosphere has to change. Hopefully it will now that the Torre/Mattingly era is over. I’m tired of guys underperforming, not knowing fundamental baseball, and never having any urgency. I’m also sick of bananas and selfies – these guys are paid millions of dollars to do what they do without having to self adulate themselves and act the clown. Irritates me to no end. What the hell’s wrong with a high five and a pat on the butt anymore? I know Tru would do the latter for free.

      Like

  17. I have always thought that it was ridiculous that one side could “opt out” of a contract, but the other side couldn’t. It seems to be the case that players now have all the advantage. Frankly if I owned a franchise and was willing to pay today’s contract rates, I would insist that with my team there will never be opt out contracts – take it or leave it.

    Like

  18. Of course, I would also have the policy of not allowing beards, dread-locks, or some of these extra long hair styles. That probably tells you all you want to know about my age.

    Like

    • I’m probably a fair amount younger than you Bear, but I don’t like it much either. That and all the tattoos.

      What happen to the real characters like Al Hrabosky, Bill Lee and Mark Fidrych?

      Think I was born in the wrong era.

      Like

  19. I wouldn’t mind giving the manager’s job to Bud Black. My take on his overall experience and character is positive, although I don’t know why Wallach wouldn’t deserve the same consideration, and his pedigree is that of a Dodger. Wallach has a record of achievement in the minors that is impressive, given what he had to work with. Of course, neither man has any history with Friedman, but then Maddon, the only guy with a known successful history has already gone somewhere else. And you all know by now what I think of Friedman.

    Like

    • I heard that if Wallach isn’t given the managerial job he will most likely join Donnie in Miami. And, by the way, Bear, I’m with you on the beards and ugly ass long hair!

      Like

  20. I have to admit, as a New Yorker, I’m going to miss having a manager that was well liked here. The Dodgers were a lot more recognized because of that fact and got more coverage in print. Especially during the post season. I know this will not be the case if someone who hasn’t a New York connection or backround takes over. (I’m talking Torre and Maddingly)

    Like

  21. I suppose if management wants a manager who already shares its thinking, Kapler is a strong candidate. He seems to be a bright guy with a lot of different ideas about nutrition and conditioning but who knows if this means anything with regard to managing. Personally, I would rather see him stay in the front office. I heard today the Dodgers have interviewed Dave Roberts. I have no issues with him and I have no issues with Wallach. I have no issues with Bud Black either. I wish Dusty Baker well with the Nats but I can’t help but think that hire will not go well. Not quite sure why but it just seems he lost the magic he had with the Giants.

    I do agree that something has to change with the Dodgers both on the field and in the front office. I do think management has a plan that will try to focus on developing players rather than rely on free agents and big contracts. We all know the problems but solving them will not be easy.

    As for the “selfies”, bananas, bubble machines, etc., I am ok with spontaneous excitement and a smile here and there. I recall a lot of criticism of the Dodgers during the Karros/Piazza times because the team never showed any emotion at all. Somewhere there has to be a happy medium. I also do not like tattoos and never will and wish Vinny would not discuss them on the broadcasts but he is a realist and understands our culture. Not sure what to make of the long hair and beards but I probably would not go so far as to ban them the way the Yankees and some other clubs have tried to do over the years.

    Like

  22. lbirk, as you probably already know, our beloved ownership group is raising ticket prices, as per the LA Times: “…the Dodgers would work with season-ticket holders that might not want to keep their seats at the new price, so that they could find seats in a nearby area. (Ownership) believes the Dodgers continue to offer affordable seating options. ‘That is of the utmost concern to our ownership group.’ ” Sure, that and getting Vinny on TV. Can I vomit now?

    Like

    • As much as I dislike the rising cost of ticket prices every year. I can only fault the people who are willing to pay them. There’s always gonna be someone who can buy and sell you, and your seats in Los Angeles. Anyone ever try and merge onto the freeway in Cali…you have to force your way into traffic…why should Dodger Stadium be any different?

      Like

  23. Not that I’m able to go to the Stadium, but can someone compare what our ticket prices are compared to Kansas City? I think they did win the World Series this year.

    Like

  24. Last year I compared our prices with the Rockies and there was quite a difference. Denver is the closest NL West city to me and I’ll probably head over in April. The last three Dodger games I’ve been to, they have basically stunk, so I’m due for a good one.
    *
    I doubt Veritek will get any serious consideration. How would Puig get along with a tough, ex-catcher? The other youngsters and veterans might not be so much of a concern, but as I recall Veritek is willing to get up in your face.

    Like

  25. bear, your wish is my command…

    The average price per ticket in MLB for 2015 was $28.94. Here’s how a few teams stack up:
    Red Sox: $52,34 (1st)…followed by Yankees, Cubs and Phils.
    Royals: $29.76 (11th)
    Dodgers: $28.61 (14th…gotta say I’m pleasantly surprised), even though I don’t attend games anymore)
    Padres: $16.37 (last)

    And the most expensive ticket price in 2015:
    Red Sox $120.27
    Tigers $116.68
    Cubs $112.69
    Blue Jays $107.92
    Giants $105.14
    Mets $104.47
    Yankees $101.43
    White Sox $95.85
    Astros $95.33
    Padres $88.34
    Rangers $88.14
    Phillies $86.24
    Pirates $84.24
    Cardinals $81.47
    Indians $79.76
    Brewers $79.32
    Dodgers $75.76
    Orioles $74.78
    Twins $74.55
    Angels $73.84
    Athletics $72.34
    Mariners $71.86
    Marlins $70.17
    Royals $68.77
    Braves $68.47
    Nats $67.97
    Rockies $64.22
    D-Backs $62.19
    Rays $61.81
    Reds $55.27

    Like

  26. I guess it’s not as bad as I thought, although at these prices I don’t see that many families can afford a game anymore the way that it used to be. I lived in a lot of places in the 70’s and remember taking my two kids with me in Baltimore, Cleveland, and Chicago – I wasn’t broke, but didn’t have a lot of money left over to do that either. Today with grandkids it would be like, forget it.

    Like

  27. I remember when I was a young man in the late 70’s/early 80s that I was able to buy into a 1/9th share of two season tickets in the loge (that was second deck right?), just past first base for somewhere around $110-$120. Parking was I think $4.

    I miss those days.

    Like

  28. Not Gibson!?, are you kidding. How can he walk to the mound to take out a pitcher?
    Personally, I would like to have a Catcher as Manager.

    Like

  29. I highly respect Gibson as a player, and he has that historic connection with the Dodgers, although he was with us only for three years. However, I think he’s already had his chance, and it wasn’t all that successful. If we’re looking for iconic Dodgers in history, why not pick Herschiser from that era.

    Frankly I think the most qualified of the bunch that has been mentioned is Bud Black. I would even expect him to run his own show and not be a copy-machine output of the Friedman/ Zaidi cartel.

    Like

  30. I’ve seen it said that Anderson will get a multi-year offer…I’ve also seen it said that he won’t…Would you give him multi-years and fore-go a draft pick to do so???

    Like

  31. I can’t remember when there was so many candidates for Dodger manager. There are a lot of good ones. But I think it will take more than a manager to get the Dodgers through a post season unto the World Series. They don’t seem to be able to up their play a notch, like other teams do when they get to the postseason.
    Now, if Greinke leaves, like it looks like he will, because the Dodgers think he’ll be too old by the time his contract ends. Sad thing because some pitchers do well even into their 40s.
    It’s doubtful the Dodgers will even make the Post season without Greinke..
    All we can do is hope for the best.

    Like

  32. Lopes will always be a fave of mine. Often times when the camera caught him in the dugout he looked distanced. Best wishes to him in DC.

    Like

  33. Yes, I read the article about ticket prices. Here are my thoughts: when Stan Kasten took over, he said he felt the ticket pricing was too confusing and had too many levels. Little has changed and in fact the Dodgers have many different levels and prices depending on the opponent. If Dodger Stadium had the same capacity as phone company park, every game would be a sellout just as it is up there. The sad fact is there are enough ticket buyers, at least at the present time, to justify raising prices since there is a waiting list for season tickets. I also have an unproven theory based on nothing but an assumption that probably half the fans who attend any given day did not pay for the tickets themselves. They are there as guests of another season ticket holder, be it a corporate or other owner. And, I do know that just as in my case, a lot off folks share tickets to lesson the burden. I will still buy my allotment because while I don’t like the process of going to the games or leaving, I enjoy being there to see the game in person.

    There is something else to consider when looking at ticket prices. Are you aware how much it costs to go to Disneyland? I have not been there in a long time but from what I read and from what I hear from people who have been there, it costs well over $100 a ticket and the place is crowded all through the year. If the economy is so bad, how can anyone afford to take a family to the happiest place on earth and also feed them once they are in the park? And Disneyland is looking into demand pricing so it can charge more for busier times. The answer is there are people who can afford these prices or who are willing to sacrifice something to go there. If you want to attend a major league baseball game bad enough, you will find a way to do so.

    I am finding this managerial search almost comical. How many people will be interviewed for this job? I have to assume management knows what it wants in a manager. Clearly many of the names mentioned are qualified. Does management really want someone who can and will think for himself? Do they want a “caretaker” kind of guy? Is Gibson really on management’s radar? I agree that he would not be the ideal choice for a variety of reasons and I would be surprised if he makes the final cut. But then again, I expect to be surprised by what this management group does this off season.

    I am a big Davey Lopes fan and would hate to see him go. However, maybe it is time to shake things up and let the new manager have a say in his staff. Would management allow such a thing?

    Like

  34. I doubt Grienke will be back. Money is very important to him, and the 3 years he put together in LA, put him in a position to negotiate for more Money. I loved our tandem of Grienke and Kershaw, the only way grienke stays is if he Loved pitching in LA, and a further condition he may look at is which manager will be making the line up and pulling him out, which is unknown now. There are so many teams that would want his talent, and few of them could afford him, I just hope he does not sign with the GIants, that would irk me.
    AS a replacement to geinke, I do not want David price, cant hit and his not post season worthy. I really liked Zack, a straight shooter both with his pitching and mouth.

    Like

    • My feeling is that Price should remain an AL guy, and he’s also lacking in post-season accomplishment. He’s always seemed to me a pitcher that would do well when his team scores 4 or 5 runs, but that’s not been the Dodgers lately.

      Like

Leave a Reply

